Skip to main content

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print: How to Cite MMY with TIP

APA Style and MMY & TIP

APA is the style preferred by most social science disciplines including education. Read more to learn what elements are needed for citing reviews from MMY & TIP.

Elements needed to cite a test review from the electronic version of the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY):

  1. Last name, first initial of the author of the review
  2. Year of MMY edition
  3. Name of the test being reviewed
  4. Name(s) of MMY editors
  5. Title of the MMY edition
  6. Indication that it is the electronic version of the MMY
  7. Retrieved statement

APA citation format for a test review from the electronic version of the MMY:

The citation for your 'works cited' page for reviews in MMY should follow this format:

Last name, first initial of review author. (Year of MMY edition). Test review of the name of the test being reviewed. In Name(s) of MMY editors (Eds.), The edition Mental Measurements Yearbook [electronic version]. Retrieved from the Burros Institute's Mental Measurements Yearbook online database.

Example of a citation to a test review, with correct punctuation and APA formatting (except for the indenting and double spacing):

Sandoval, J. (2003). Test review of the Woodcock-Johnson III. In B. S. Plake, J. C. Impara, & R. A. Spies (Eds.), The fifteenth mental measurements yearbook [electronic version]. Retrieved from the Burros Institute's Mental Measurements Yearbook online database.

This information cited from Andruss Library, Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania. (2013). Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests In Print. http://guides.library.bloomu.edu/content.php?pid=221730&sid=1840872.

APA Style Guides

The sites listed below have examples of different types of citations for different types of sources (journal articles, books, chapters in books, and more). Note that the below guides are all using the 6th Edition of the APA Style. We are actively working on providing new guidance related to the 7th Edition and this page/box will change as that information becomes available.

Citation Standards for Different Editions of MMY & TIP

To properly cite a review from the MMY on your 'works cited' page, you will need to know the specific MMY edition in which your review was published, because the editors of each edition vary. The edition your review was published in can be found by using the Mental Measurements Yearbook review number found in the online record. (See the number in the green box in the screen shot on the MMY-TIP Online via EBSCO tab) The first two digits of the Mental Measurements Yearbook review number indicate the specific edition.

Example of a citation with correct punctuation and formatting:

Cizek, G.J. (2003). Test review of the Woodcock-Johnson III. From B. S. Plake, J. C. Impara, & R. A. Spies (Eds.), The fifteenth mental measurements yearbook [Electronic version]. Retrieved from the Buros Institute's Mental Measurement Yearbook Online database

Mental Measurements Yearbook edition dates and editors:

Eighteenth

2010

Robert A. Spies, Janet F. Carlson, and Kurt F. Geisinger

Seventeenth

2007

K. F. Geisinger, R. A. Spies, J. F. Carlson, & B. S. Plake

Sixteenth

2005

B. Plake, J. C. Impara & R. Spies

Fifteenth

2003

B. Plake, J. C. Impara & R. Spies

Fourteenth

2001

B. Plake & J. C. Impara

Thirteenth

1998

J. C. Impara & B. Plake

Twelfth

1995

J. C. Conoley & J. C. Impara

Eleventh

1992

J. J. Kramer & J. C. Conoley

Tenth

1989

J. C. Conoley & J. J. Kramer

Ninth

1985

J. V. Mitchell

If the eight-digit number begins with 19 (e.g., 19013214), use this citation template:

Last name, first initial of review author. (in press). Test review of the name of test. In J. F. Carlson, K. F. Geisinger, & R. A. Spies (Eds.), The nineteenth mental measurements yearbook. Retrieved from the Burros Institute's Mental Measurements Yearbook online database.

If the eight-digit number begins with 18 (e.g., 18013214), use this citation template:

Last name, first initial of review author. (2010). Test review of the name of test. In R. A. Spies, J. F. Carlson, & K. F. Geisinger (Eds.), The eighteenth mental measurements yearbook. Retrieved from the Burros Institute's Mental Measurements Yearbook online database.

If the eight-digit number begins with 17 (e.g., 17033326), use this citation template:

Last name, first initial of review author. (2007). Test review of the name of test. In K. F. Geisinger, R. A. Spies, J. F. Carlson, & B. S. Plake (Eds.), The seventeenth mental measurements yearbook. Retrieved from the Burros Institute's Mental Measurements Yearbook online database.

If the eight-digit number begins with 16 (e.g., 16032848), use this citation template:

Last name, first initial of review author. (2005). Test review of the name of test. In R. A. Spies & B. S. Plake (Eds.), The sixteenth mental measurements yearbook. Retrieved from the Burros Institute's Mental Measurements Yearbook online database.

If the eight-digit number begins with 15 (e.g., 15192839), use this citation template:

Last name, first initial of review author. (2003). Test review of the name of test. In B. S. Plake, J. C. Impara, & R. A. Spies (Eds.), The fifteenth mental measurements yearbook. Retrieved from the Burros Institute's Mental Measurements Yearbook online database.

If the eight-digit number begins with 14 (e.g., 14122332), use this citation template:

Last name, first initial of review author. (2001). Test review of the name of test. In B. S. Plake & J. C. Impara (Eds.), The fourteenth mental measurements yearbook. Retrieved from the Burros Institute's Mental Measurements Yearbook online database.

If the eight-digit number begins with 13 (e.g., 13072025), use this citation template:

Last name, first initial of review author. (1998). Test review of the name of test. In J. C. Impara & B. S. Plake (Eds.), The thirteenth mental measurements yearbook. Retrieved from the Burros Institute's Mental Measurements Yearbook online database.

If the eight-digit number begins with 12 (e.g., 12180962), use this citation template:

Last name, first initial of review author. (1995). Test review of the name of test. In J. C. Conoley & J. C. Impara (Eds.), The twelfth mental measurements yearbook. Retrieved from the Burros Institute's Mental Measurements Yearbook online database.

If the eight-digit number begins with 11 (e.g., 11160192), use this citation template:

Last name, first initial of review author. (1992). Test review of the name of test. In J. J. Kramer & J. C. Conoley (Eds.), The eleventh mental measurements yearbook. Retrieved from the Burros Institute's Mental Measurements Yearbook online database.

If the eight-digit number begins with 10 (e.g., 10020325), use this citation template:

Last name, first initial of review author. (1989). Test review of the name of test. In J. C. Conoley & J. J. Kramer (Eds.), The tenth mental measurements yearbook. Retrieved from the Burros Institute's Mental Measurements Yearbook online database.

If the eight-digit number begins with 09 (e.g., 09189098), use this citation template:

Last name, first initial of review author. (1985). Test review of the name of test. In J. V. Mitchell, Jr. (Ed.), The ninth mental measurements yearbook. Retrieved from the Burros Institute's Mental Measurements Yearbook online database.

If the accession number begins with 8 (e.g. 8:668), use this citation template:

Last name, first initial of review author. (1978). Test review of the name of test. In O.K. Buros (Ed.), The eighth mental measurements yearbook. Retrieved from the Burros Institute's Mental Measurements Yearbook online database.

If the accession number begins with 7 (e.g., 7:676), use this citation template:

Last name, first initial of review author. (1972). Test review of the name of test. In O.K. Buros (Ed.), The seventh mental measurements yearbook. Retrieved from the Burros Institute's Mental Measurements Yearbook online database.

If the accession number begins with 6 (e.g., 6:439), use this citation template:

Last name, first initial of review author. (1965). Test review of the name of test. In O.K. Buros (Ed.), The sixth mental measurements yearbook. Retrieved from the Burros Institute's Mental Measurements Yearbook online database.

If the accession number begins with 5 (e.g., 5:405 ), use this citation template:

Last name, first initial of review author. (1959). Test review of the name of test. In O.K. Buros (Ed.), The fifth mental measurements yearbook. Retrieved from the Burros Institute's Mental Measurements Yearbook online database.

If the accession number begins with 4, (e.g., 4:282), use this citation template:

Last name, first initial of review author. (1953). Test review of the name of test. In O.K. Buros (Ed.), The fourth mental measurements yearbook. Retrieved from the Burros Institute's Mental Measurements Yearbook online database.

If the accession number begins with 2 (e.g., 2:1416), use this citation template:

Last name, first initial of review author. (1941). Test review of the name of test. In O.K. Buros (Ed.), The nineteen forty mental measurements yearbook. Retrieved from the Burros Institute's Mental Measurements Yearbook online database.

If the accession number begins with 1 (e.g., 1:1054 ), use this citation template:

Last name, first initial of review author. (1938). Test review of the name of test. In O.K. Buros (Ed.), The nineteen thirty eight mental measurements yearbook. Retrieved from the Burros Institute's Mental Measurements Yearbook online database.

This information cited from:

Nixon, Judith. (2013). Mental Measurements Yearbook & Tests In Print. http://guides.lib.purdue.edu/content.php?pid=161015&sid=1367977 Purdue University Libraries.

Andruss Library. (2013). Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests In Print. http://guides.library.bloomu.edu/content.php?pid=221730&sid=1840872. Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania.