Library Guides: Global Resource Systems Research Guide: Maps & Data Visualization

Maps

These resources are offered as a, hopefully, useful subset of the many resources available on the topic. No effort is made to provide an exhaustive listing. Not every point of view will be represented – that is not the intent here.

David Rumsey Historical Map Collection
This historical map collection has over 42,000 maps and images focusing on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia and Africa are also represented.
Library of Congress - Geography and Map Division
The Geography and Map Division of the Library of Congress holds more than 4.5 million items, of which only a small fraction have been converted to digital form. The focus of this collection is Americana and Cartographic Treasures and restricted to items that are not covered by copyright protection.
National Geographic
Collection of maps by the National Geographic Society, including a collection of print maps available for purchase, EarthPulse: a visual guide to trends, Atlas Puzzles, and political and physical maps of the world.
Maps of World
Interactive collection of world maps featuring country information and maps.
United Nations Geospatial Information Section
Includes general maps, atlases, gazetteers, travel guides, cartographic and geographic reference works, deployment maps and information on political operations.
University of Texas Libraries - Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
Detailed collection of over 250,000 maps, including city, state, route, topical and current interest maps.

Data Visualization

Datavisualization
Datavisualization.ch is the premier news and knowledge resource for data visualization and infographics.
FlowingData | Data Visualization, Infographics, and Statistics
FlowingData explores how designers, statisticians, and computer scientists are using data to understand ourselves better- mainly through data visualization.
Infographics and Data Visualizations
Visually is a one-stop shop for the creation of data visualizations and infographics.
Information is Beautiful
Topical collection of visualized information- facts, data, ideas, subjects, issues, statistics, questions- with a minimal use of words.
Visual-Literacy.org
This e-learning site focuses on a critical, but often neglected skill for business, communication, and engineering students: the ability to evaluate, apply, or create conceptual visual representations.
Periodic Table of Visualization Methods
An interactive “periodic table” of different visualization methods, including data, concept, strategy, and metaphor.
OECD – Essay: The Value of Data Visualisation
This index allows you to compare well-being across countries, based on 11 topics the OECD has identified as essential, in the areas of material living conditions and quality of life.
United States Census Bureau - Data Visualization Gallery
The Census Bureau is working to increase our use of visualization in making data available to the public, and this gallery is an early part of that effort. The first posted visualizations will pertain largely to historical population data, building on prior work done to portray historical changes in the growth and redistribution of the U.S. population.

Selected Books

The Visual Display of Quantitative Information by Edward R. Tufte
Call Number: QA276.3 T83 2001
ISBN: 9780961392147
Publication Date: 2001-07-09
Visualizing Data by William S. Cleveland
Call Number: QA276.3 .C57 1993
ISBN: 0963488406
Publication Date: 1993-09-01
The Elements of Graphing Data by William S. Cleveland
Call Number: QA90 .C54 1994
Publication Date: 1994
Information Visualization by Colin Ware
Call Number: BF241 W34 2013
ISBN: 0123814642
Publication Date: 2013