Library Guides: Global Resource Systems Research Guide: Gender

Gender

These resources are offered as a, hopefully, useful subset of the many resources available on the topic. No effort is made to provide an exhaustive listing. Not every point of view will be represented – that is not the intent here.

If you are searching for scholarly journal articles related to this topic, there is additional information in the right-hand box on this page. The journal list is not inclusive. The best way to locate articles is to search one or more of the library's article indexes.

Gender Inequality Index (GII)- From the Human Development Reports
“The Gender Inequality Index reflects women’s disadvantage in three dimensions- reproductive health, empowerment and the labour market- for as many countries as data of reasonable quality allows. The index shows the loss in human development due to inequality between female and male achievements in these dimensions. It ranges from 0, which indicates that women and men fare equally, to 1, which indicates that women fare as poorly as possible in all measured dimensions.”
Global Gender
“The Foundation of Women’s Rights Promotion and Development established the Global Gender website in 2006. It serves as a platform to accelerate the circulation of domestic and international gender-related information, and to display the results of gender mainstreaming in Taiwan all around the world.”
Oxfam International - Gender Justice
“You’re more likely to be poor if you’re a woman. And as a woman- according to research- you’re likely to be doing most of the work. But this discrimination does not start there- it actually starts much earlier. Girls are too often denied access to education, health and nutrition from birth. This has to change. The right to gender equality underpins all Oxfam’s work across the world.”
UN Women: Commission on the Status of Women
The Commission on the Status of Women (CSW) is the principal global intergovernmental body exclusively dedicated to the promotion of gender equality and the empowerment of women.
United Nations - Women Watch
“Womenwatch is the central gateway to information and resources on the promotion of gender equality and the empowerment of women throughout the United Nations system. The portal contains a directory of resources on selected topics including the critical areas of concern of the Beijing Platform for Action, statistics and indicators, gender mainstreaming and online clearninghouses on themes currently on the United Nations global agenda, such as climate change.”
US AID - Gender Equality and Women's Empowerment
“Long-term, sustainable development will only be possible when women and men enjoy equal opportunity to rise to their potential. But today, women and girls continue to face disadvantages in every sector in which we work, while in some cases, boys are falling behind. For decades, USAID has been leading global efforts to achieve gender equality. While great strides have been made, gender inequality remains a significant challenge across every development initiative worldwide, from education to global health.”
US Department of State - Office of Global Women's Issues
“The Secretary’s Office of Global Women’s Issues (S/GWI) seeks to ensure that women’s issues are fully integrated in the formulation and conduct of U.S. foreign policy. The Office of Global Women’s Issues works to promote stability, peace, and development by empowering women politically, socially, and economically around the world.”
Women’s Rights
“Women’s rights around the world are an important indicator to understand global well-being. Gender equality furthers the cause of child survival and development for all of society, so the importance of women’s rights and gender equality should not be underestimated. This website explores these issues.”
World Bank - Gender
“The World Bank Group has been promoting gender equality in development since 1977. Yet today, in many parts of the world, women continue to lack voice and decision-making ability; and their economic opportunities remain very constrained.”

Looking for scholarly articles?

Looking for scholarly articles about women's issues? The most efficient way to find articles on a specific topic is to use an article index. Journals that have articles about this topic include:

Feminist Economics
Feminist Theory
Gender & Society
Signs
Women's Studies International Forum

Gender Studies Database and Contemporary Women's Issues,available from the library, includes citations from the above journals. Click on the links below to access these indexes.

Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Gender Studies Database covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Web are available.
Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window
CWI is a multidisciplinary, full-text database that brings together relevant content from mainstream periodicals, gray literature, and the alternative press -- with a focus on the critical issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries. It includes English-language titles from around the world.