Streaming Videos: Collections and Guidelines

Selection of fascinating interviews with a wide range of contemporary celebrities (literary figures, scientists, actors, comedians, and others). Broad topics include the Arts, Business, Comedy, Concerts, Food, Jewish Interest, Literature, Science & Technology, and more. From 92nd Street Y, a "world-class cultural and community center". Use On Demand's search box or its Browse feature to identify titles of interest. (Updated 6/2014)

From the Annenberg Learner / Open Education Resources OER Commons site, this resource uses "...clips from more than 300 of the greatest movies ever made, this series explores film history and American culture through the eyes of over 150 Hollywood insiders, including Clint Eastwood, Steven Spielberg, and Michael Eisner. In-depth treatments present film as a powerful economic force, potent twentieth-century art form, and viable career option."

From PBS, streaming episodes from the well-known American Experience program. Over 250 episodes are included. (Added 7/2014)

According to the website, AIFG "is an online collection of more than 450 historic films by and about Native peoples of the Americas, compiled and digitized by historian J. Fred MacDonald over many years. These films range in date from 1925-2010."

"Discover and learn about the world’s endangered animals, plants and fungi - reveal what they look like, what makes them special and why we should protect them. With the help of the world’s best wildlife filmmakers and photographers, conservationists and scientists, we are creating an awe-inspiring record of life on Earth. Freely accessible to everyone and preserved for the benefit of future generations, ARKive is a truly invaluable resource for conservation, education and public awareness."

"The C-SPAN Archives records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses. Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, totaling over 201,000 hours, is contained in the C-SPAN Archives and immediately accessible through the database and electronic archival systems developed and maintained by the C-SPAN Archives."

In French; over 3000 educational college-level web lectures by academics on a wide range of topics. Site is searchable by subject, authors, and contributors.

This important distributor has begun streaming selected full episodes and clips of selected programs, such as Man vs. Wild, Mythbusters, and Into the Universe with Stephen Hawking, free on their website but on a limited basis.

Ethnographical Video for Instruction & Analysis (EVIA) "is a collaborative endeavor to create a digital archive of ethnographic field video for use by scholars and instructors." Strong focus on race and ethnic studies worldwide; cultural studies, and anthropology. Funded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, Indiana University & the University of Michigan.

Eclectic collection of documentaries "about American roots cultures." Subjects include race and ethnic studies; agriculture; arts & crafts; festivals, folk music; healing & medicine; religion; urban life; women, and more. Includes details regarding Rights & Policy issues that determine use.

From PBS, streaming episodes from the well-known Frontline program. (Added 7/2014)

Large collection of primetime television episodes past and present, movies, and popular documentaries, available as full episodes and clips. Hulu's search/browse interface makes it easy to find titles of interest by video type, by genre, and by "subchannels" such as Documentary and Biography. HuluPlus is an optional and new monthly subscription for access to even more movies. According to their website, Hulu is "...easy to use and share," and "... is free and legal through an advertising supported model." Free Hulu includes limited advertising interuptions. As with Netflix, students could subscribe to Hulu on their own to access content. Note that Hulu's subscription model is intended for individual rather than group viewing.

Large and eclectic online collection of "moving images" ranging from animation & cartoons, cultural & academic films, movies, Prelinger archives, news & public affairs, vlogs, and much more. Internet Archive's drop down search menus help you select the type of video you want. Their handy Welcome to Movies page also helps you browse collections by subject, language, and genres. See also their vast TV NEWS section, which currently covers 2009-present.

"Learn almost anything for free" from over 2400 online videos, numerous subject areas & topics covered." Includes badges to indicate user achievement. (Updated 7/2014)

Each year the MTM project gathers 12-13 "short films on the most important topics of the day. Local and global, online and in communities around the world, Media That Matters engages diverse audiences and inspires them to take action. From gay rights to global warming, the jury-selected collection represents the work of a diverse group of independent filmmakers, many of whom are under 21." Strong focus on cultural & ethnic studies, immigration, and human rights.

Vast collection of very brief (often less than 1 minute long) movie clips from theatrical release films. The intended purpose is simple viewing and entertainment, and a lengthy Terms of Use page makes it clear that copying, editing, adapting, derivative works, etc. are not permitted.

This handy page lists a large number of NatGeo videos available for streaming via their website. Subjects of interest include science, animals, the environment and sustainability, adventure sports, NatGeo TV episodes from programs such as Border Wars, Naked Science, and the Dog Whisperer, a surprising selection of music videos (from artists such as Johnny Cash, Gogol Bordello, and Angélique Kidjo), and much more. Includes full videos / program episodes and clips.

Eclectic free collection of videos from the New Media center of la Universidad Francisco Marroquin de Guatemala, many of which are in Spanish. Videos focus on various topics, including economics; history of the book; Greek mythology; information literacy, and global leadership.

This collection of open educational resources can easily be searched for film. You can find film studies resources, movie clips, course materials using film, and also filmed lectures, all of which are open and free to use.

This important distributor has gone back and forth on the streaming question. However, selected full episodes of some programs (such as NOVA and Frontline) are free on their website but on a limited basis. Clips for other titles may be available on title-specific companion websites. Latest news is that PBS has established licensed streaming partnerships with Kanopy and Alexander Street - contact Course Reserve staff for more information on titles you cannot locate free online.

"The Scripps Library and Multimedia Archive serves as a research facility for scholars of U.S. public policy. The Library's collection is a specialized one focused on American politics and history with special attention paid to the American presidency."

An online collection of more than 2000 documentary films, with a handy A-Z list of their titles. According to their website, SnagFilms.com "... is a website where you can watch full-length documentary films for free, but we’re also a platform that lets you “snag” a film and put it anywhere on the web."

Collection of educational and often course- or curriculum-specific online videos. Also includes shared documents and other teaching resources. According to their website, the "...goal is to provide an online community for sharing instructional videos. We seek to fill a need for a more educationally focused, safe venue for teachers, schools, and home learners. It is a site to provide anytime, anywhere professional development with teachers teaching teachers. As well, it is a site where teachers can post videos designed for students to view in order to learn a concept or skill."

A non-profit collection of educational videos featuring "... the world's most fascinating thinkers and doers, who are challenged to give the talk of their lives (in 18 minutes or less)." An A-Z list of speakers helps you browse by individual, by topic, or by event.