There are so many ways to search for information that it can be overwhelming! It doesn't help that what you are looking for often determines which resource is best to use. But how do you know which one to use? Internet search engines like Google can only get you so far, so check out some of these other resources that the ISU Library offers to help you move forward.
Looking for books? Use the ISU Library Quick Search to find the books you need.
If you are looking for a book, Quick Search is the way to go. If the library doesn't have the book you want, try requesting it through Interlibrary Loan or ask your librarian if it can be purchased. Quick Search can also be used to find research articles, but for a literature review it's recommended to use a dedicated article database.
Article databases are large collections of indexed bibliographic data. In most instances, you are able to search titles, authors, abstracts, subjects keywords, and some other fields, but usually you are not able to search the full text of articles. Some databases index journal articles from a wide array of subjects while others are more limited in the subject areas they cover. Depending on your research needs you may want to use both types.
Some databases frequently used to search for animal science literature include:
You can access all ISU dissertations and most ISU theses by searching the ISU Digital Repository. Older theses may not be available online so you would want to search for print copies using Quick Search. In addition, you can search for theses and dissertations from ISU and other colleges and universities by searching ProQuest's Dissertations &Theses Global.
The library's collections and services are available to all ISU students, faculty, and staff and Parks Library is open to the public.
