Not sure which database is for you? This guide compares several different databases to help you determine which may be best for you.
There are a number of ways to search for research articles. Chances are, you've already used an Internet search engine (Google, etc.) and want other ways to find useful information.
Quick Search is the ISU Library's primary search tool. This tool will allow you to search the library's collection of print books, ebooks, articles, print journals, theses, media, and more.
Tip: After you do a search, click on Articles in the Format Type section under the the Tweak My Results heading on the right side.
Tip: You can use Advanced Search to search particular fields (author, subject, title), set parameters on dates of resources, and select type of materials.
Tip: Academic Search Ultimate is a good source to find news articles and less-rigorous scientific articles. Undergraduate students may want to start their search for papers that are a little easier to digest in this database.
Article databases are collections of bibliographic information that is indexed and searchable through the database user interface. Each database indexes different journals so you will likely find different literature by doing the same or similar searches in different databases. Many of these databases prioritize peer-reviewed literature, so you are less likely to find news articles and editorials. Some databases are more general in their subject coverage while others focus on a more specific subject area.
PubMed provides over 22 million citations for biomedical and life sciences literature, including: biomedicine and health, behavioral sciences, bioengineering, biochemistry, genetics, molecular and cell biology.
PubMed tutorial
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that streamlines access to library journal subscriptions. If you frequently use PubMed for literature searches, try it out.
The library's collections and services are available to all ISU students, faculty, and staff and Parks Library is open to the public.
