Library Guides: African and African American Studies Research Guide: Getting Started

Finding News Articles

African American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This is a collection of historic African American newspapers, largely from the 19th century. Contains information about cultural life and history including early biographies, vital statistics, essays, editorials, advertisements, poetry, and prose, all of which give important insights into African American experiences. Part of the "Historic Commons" databases, click "Modules" for more information specific to which Black newspapers are included.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
This unique database provides mostly current full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the U.S. ethnic and minority press, providing access to essential, often overlooked perspectives, 1959-present. Strong coverage of African American, Indigenous / American Indian, Asian American, and Latino newspapers; also includes coverage from many other ethnic groups in the US, including Arab American, Jewish American, and ethnic European perspectives. Tip: To search Black newspapers only, go to Advanced Search and under "Ethnic Group" select: African American/Caribbean/African

Historic Newspapers from Black Studies Center
Most cover early to mid-20th century, with strong coverage for 1940s-1960s. Newspapers include Call & Post (Cleveland); Chicago Defender / Chicago Daily Defender; the Courier / New Pittsburgh Courier (Pittsburgh); and Final Call (Chicago).

Welcome!

This Guide will help you with research in African and African American Studies! The Guide identifies some of the major research tools for finding articles, plus research materials, resources, and information in libraries and on the web that are relevant to African & African American Studies.

Please contact me if you have any questions or need assistance using any of the tools listed here or help finding the information you need!

Susan Vega García
Associate Professor & Librarian
Subject areas: Ethnic Studies & Diversity;
Women's & Gender Studies

Finding Articles

There are two essential databases that focus on African & African American Studies articles, journals, and resources. Both are excellent tools to help guide your research and information needs! Both contain unique materials. Depending on your topic, you may want (need!) to search them both.

Many other databases will certainly include additional relevant content connected with that database's particular subject. For example, Education databases will certainly be good choices for searching for articles specific to Black issues related to education. You can find all our subject databases listed on our A-Z Databases page.

Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Start here! One of your best choices for finding articles and information focused on African and African American studies! This scholarly database includes a number of important African American studies research tools and primary source materials, including a Journals index that provides access to articles from almost 400 journals; full-text historic newspapers from the early-mid 20th century; and full-text scholarly essays on the Black experience, commissioned by the Schomburg Center. You can also search their collection of videos and images, and their essays for getting an understanding of important selected topics.

TIP: To search for journal articles, for simple searches choose the Journals button above BSC's search box and enter your search terms. Done!

TIP: For more control over your searches in Black Studies Center, choose the Search Scholarly Journals button just below the search box.

This route takes you directly to the database's Advanced search that gives you the capability to add date ranges, search within specific journals or fields, choose specific subjects, and more.

Tip: The Black Studies Center database contains many unique materials that are *not* linked up with Quick Search! This is why it's important to search BSC itself to be sure you're searching and finding the most comprehensive and focused collection of African & African American articles and its other unique materials!

Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Continue your research here! This database provides strong coverage of race and ethnic studies areas including African and African American studies. This database provides access to journal articles plus books, magazine and newspaper articles related to race and ethnic studies, race relations, cultural identity, immigration studies, and more. This database will be especially valuable if you are also looking for information on additional race and ethnic groups, including international perspectives.

Hidden Treasures!

The contents of the Black Studies Center are SO vast that some materials are hidden away! Besides the Black Literature Index content mentioned above, these include:

Black Abolitionist Papers - a collection of primary source material on this topic
Reference - an eclectic collection of over 400 "reference" items that includes many selected dissertations, a few reference single-volume works (handbooks, encyclopedias, etc.), the Black Studies Center's own Timeline, even non-reference but groundbreaking books such as Feminist Theory from Margin to Center, by bell hooks.

To specifically search these materials, choose the All content types tab above the BSC search box, then choose Primary Source Collections or Reference. Have fun exploring!

Credo's search tool allows you to search for books, images, topics, or to use Credo's innovative and interactive Mind Map to help you discover content related to your topic.

Credo's "Mind Map" for Black Power

Your Librarian

Susan A. Vega García

she | hers

Email Me

Contact:

Associate Professor & Librarian
150 Parks Library
Iowa State University
Ames IA 50011
she | her | hers

Subjects: Ethnic Studies & Diversity, Women's & Gender Studies

African and African American Studies Research Guide

Finding News Articles

Welcome!

Finding Articles

See also:

Hidden Treasures!

Your Librarian