Library Guides: COMST 4500B: Health Communication: Find Articles

Newspaper/Magazine Articles

Access World News
This is a collection of more than 12,000 newspapers and other news sources from nearly 200 countries, from 1980 to the present. It provides full-text access to several major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles. Almost 20 different languages are represented. Platform is updated daily making it good source for current events.

Access World News tutorial
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Non-scholarly articles on a variety of health topics.

National Institutes of Health
The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the nation’s medical research agency — making important discoveries that improve health and save lives. Use the "Health Topics" tab to search for information specific for your project.
Health Topics: Medline Plus
Read about symptoms, causes, treatment and prevention for over 1000 diseases, illnesses, health conditions and wellness issues. MedlinePlus health topics are regularly reviewed, and links are updated daily.
Evaluating Internet Health Information: A Tutorial From the National Library of Medicine
This tutorial teaches you how to evaluate the health information you find on the Internet.

Academic Search Ultimate
This database covers almost all subject areas and is especially good at interdisciplinary areas. Good place to start for class assignments. It contains full text articles for more than 6,500 journals.
Web of Science
Web of Science (WoS) is a collection of databases that cover all topics. This link will take you to the page that searches all of these databases. To access more specific search tools you will need to search one database at a time using the dropdown menu.
Web of Science tutorial
Scopus
A large database containing scholarly journal articles and conference papers on any topic in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Includes cited references and h-index information.
Scopus tutorial
Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Results are limited to just scholarly sources. It includes content from academic websites such as publishers, universities and professional associations. It will find presentations, Word documents, and other file types not typically found in other databases.

CINAHL with Full Text
Covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
PubMed
PubMed provides over 22 million citations for biomedical and life sciences literature, including: biomedicine and health, behavioral sciences, bioengineering, biochemistry, genetics, molecular and cell biology.
PubMed tutorial
Gale Health and Wellness
Short introductory articles on medical and health related topics.
Health and Medicine
Resources broadly covering many aspects of human medicine and health.

PsycInfo
Literature in psychology and related disciplines. About 90% of the articles are peer-reviewed; also includes book chapters, reports, theses and dissertations.
PsycArticles
Full-text of journals from the American Psychological Association (APA) on psychology and the behavioral sciences.

ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) - EBSCOhost Access
ERIC contains records and links to education literature and curriculum materials. It includes journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations and policy papers in topics ranging from pre-k through adult education, teacher education, counseling, second-language learning, special education, and assessment.
Education Full Text
Education Full Text is a research database that covers all levels of education. Topics range across subject areas and cover best practices, curriculum development, literacy standards, pedagogical research, and instructional media.
Sports Medicine and Education Index
Journals, conference proceedings and report literature in kinesiology; sport law, sports medicine, dance, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, coaching and sport sociology/psychology, as well as physical education itself.

Communication Abstracts
Provides abstracts for nearly 350 journals covering communication and other closely-related fields of study. Most of the journals have searchable cited references.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
CMMC provides full-text, indexing and abstracts for hundreds communication journals covering related disciplines such as media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse. Many of the journals have searchable cited references.

The ISU Library subscribes to many different article databases. The complete list is available under Articles & Databases from the link below.

Articles & Databases
Find subject-specific research indexes in your discipline. Contact your librarian whenever you have questions on which index to choose or how to search.

A searchable list of ISUs electronic journals. If you cannot find a journal, check Quick Search by doing a "Journals" search.