Skip to main content
Iowa State University

Library

Streaming Videos: Collections & Guidelines: Streaming Videos @ISU Library!

Great information on the Library's many streaming video packages & Course Reserve options!

Welcome! Instructors: Need Streaming Video for your online courses?

Look here for streaming collections & titles we already own...

Instructors: Read me!

Instructors: You may wish to review video and DVD titles you typically show in your classes and consider new streaming titles we already own (or already available online) that cover the same curricular content, when available. Review links on this page for ideas!

Note: Many titles in the Library's large streaming video collections have closed captions and/or transcripts! YouTube and similar services often have caption functionality as well.

California Newsreel

NEW! The Library was able to add 20 streaming videos from California Newsreel, a well-known distributor specializing in African American, African, and race studies titles. Links below should work on campus. You can also find these titles below in Quick Search and view them there. When you find your title, just click the title to start the video player - enjoy! (Some California Newsreel titles are also available via Films on Demand- see those marked with * below!)

Women Make Movies

Women Make Movies is the pre-eminent distributor of feminist films and documentaries by women. In June 2014, the Library has been acquiring"in perpetuity" rights to reformat and stream the following 15 WMM titles that have been most heavily requested by instructors. (Note that all titles here are already owned in Video or DVD formats, and available in the Library's Media Collections):

Beyond Beijing

Hell to Pay

Honored by the Moon

Las Madres: The Mothers of Plaza de Mayo (coming soon)

Love, Women, and Flowers

Made in India: SEWA in Action

Made in Thailand

Nalini by Day, Nancy by Night (coming soon)

Nice Colored Girls (coming soon)

Performing the Border

Señorita Extraviada

Something Like a War

Step by Step: Building a Feminist Movement, 1941-1977 (coming soon)

They Call Me Muslim (coming soon)

Warrior Marks (coming soon)

Library Streaming Video & Multimedia Databases!

The Library subscribes to a growing number of multimedia databases that include streaming video - both full programs and clips - on many subjects. Below are some titles you may wish to browse. Many of these databases provide audio transcripts / closed captions and allow instructors to annotate specific clips for student use. Check it out!

Library Streaming Video Collections

NEW: The ISU Library has been acquiring subscriptions to important collections of streaming videos. See this page for details & links. This linked video is a sample from our subscription toFilms on Demand. Available to ISU community on campus and via off-campus login with your ISU ID number & Library password.

Your Librarian

Susan A. Vega Garcia
Contact:
Head of Instruction
Associate Professor
140 Parks Library
Iowa State University
Ames IA 50011
(515) 294-4052
Website / Blog PageSkype Contact