Title Selection
Instructors: You may wish to review video and DVD titles you typically show in your classes and consider new titles with streaming rights (or already available online) that cover the same curricular content, when available. Review links on this page for ideas!
California Newsreel
NEW! The Library was able to add 20 streaming videos from California Newsreel, a well-known distributor specializing in African American, African, and race studies titles. Links below should work on campus. You can also find these titles below in Quick Search and view them there. When you find your title, just click the title to start the video player - enjoy! (Some California Newsreel titles are also available via Films on Demand.)
- At the River I Stand
- Black Gold
- Black Panther / San Francisco State: On Strike
- Black Theater: The Making of a Movement
- Blacks and Jews
- Color Adjustment
- Ethnic Notions
- February One
- Furious Flower II
- Herskovits: At the Heart of Blackness
- Hughes' Dream Harlem
- In Black and White
- Made in LA / Hecho en Los Angeles
- Maquilapolis
- Money-Driven Medicine
- A Question of Color
- The Road to Brown
- Unnatural Causes: Is Inequality Making us Sick?
- What's Race Got to Do with It?
- Zora Neale Hurston: Jump at the Sun
Library Streaming Video Collections
NEW: The ISU Library has been acquiring subscriptions to important collections of streaming videos. See this page for details & links. This linked video is a sample from our subscription to Films on Demand. Available to ISU community on campus and via off-campus login with your ISU ID number & Library password.
Library Streaming Video & Multimedia Databases!
The Library subscribes to a growing number of multimedia databases that include streaming video - both full programs and clips - on many subjects. Below are some titles you may wish to browse. Many of these databases provide audio transcripts and allow instructors to annotate specific clips for student use. Check it out!
- American History in Video (Alexander Street Press)"The largest and richest collection of streaming video available for the study of American history, with 2000 hours and more than 5000 titles on completion." See list of videos included.
- Films on Demand (Films Media Group)NEW! The Library now subscribes to Films on Demand, as of Jan. 2013! You'll find hundreds and hundreds of educational documentaries, television news programs, and more from the very well-known Films for the Sciences & Humanities distribution group. Great coverage for the social sciences, humanities, and some science content as well. Includes captions on/off feature.
- Filmakers Library Online (Alexander Street Press)NEW! A huge streaming collection of more than 1000 award-winning documentaries in the social sciences, humanities, & sciences. This collection also allows instructors to create clips and annotations for student viewing, to provide structure and guidance for class discussions and learning goals.
- In the First Person (Alexander Street Press)Scholarly and disparate collection of thousands of "first person" biographical short videos, oral history interviews, and clips, including more than 4000 testimonies from Holocaust survivors, and 150 interviews of African American musicians including Count Basie, Cab Calloway, Ella Fitzgerald, and many others.
- Theatre in Video (Alexander Street Press)"Streaming video productions of a wide range of plays, including live television broadcasts of New York productions from the 1950s, contemporary revivals of classic works, and experimental performances from the 1960s and 1970s, in addition to some of the original productions of several 20th century plays. Includes multiple productions of Shakespeare's plays." See list of videos included.
Your Librarian |
Contact Info Head of Instruction Associate Professor 140 Parks Library Iowa State University Ames IA 50011 (515) 294-4052 savega@iastate.edu Send Email Ask Us!: IM, email, or phone |




Loading...
