Library Guides: VM-4 Resources: Find Articles

Article Databases

Databases
Additional Resources

The following article databases are the most comprehensive and popular for doing research in the veterinary sciences.

CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database that covers: agriculture; animal and veterinary sciences; human health, food and nutrition; microbiology and parasitology; plant sciences. It is the most comprehensive database for veterinary medicine and agriculture. Includes many international publications. Coverage: 1910 - present. Check out the Quick Reference Guide (9 page PDF)
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides access to human and veterinary medicine journals and many other life sciences journals. The Guide to PubMed for Veterinarians (PDF) provides search tips and and a list of the veterinary medicine journals indexed in PubMed. Coverage: 1950s - present
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-). Search by keyword or cited reference. A cited reference search will show you who has cited the article since it was published. Check out the Cited Reference Searching tutorial.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Use this link to Google Scholar to be recognized as an Iowa State University user and to see the "View it@ISU" link (make sure it is enabled in your Google settings). Includes citations to journal articles, book chapters, and conference proceedings. May not be as up-to-date or as comprehensive as PubMed or CAB Abstracts.
Fish, Fisheries & Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of ichthyology, fisheries, aquaculture and aquatic biology back to the 1970s.
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest index of literature on wildlife including mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. Major topic areas include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, ecotourism, zoology, taxonomy and more.

The ISU Library subscribes to these and many other databases.

Complete A-Z List of Databases Available at ISU

AGRICOLA - free version This link opens in a new window
From the USDA's National Agricultural Library (NAL). Searches the collections of the NAL and indexes agricultural information in journal articles, book chapters, books, and other formats.
Lens This link opens in a new window
This large database includes both scholarly works and patent documents from around the world. In addition to its specialized search features, it includes analytical tools that can be used to identify influential people, institutions, publishers, and journals in a particular research area.
Lens tutorial
Veterinary Education in Video This link opens in a new window
Veterinary Education in Video provides access to a collection of online videos that explains more than 500 procedures and techniques across more than 600 titles, and covers clinical skills, explanations of conditions, and training on animal handling. Films include closed captions and searchable transcripts.

VetSRev
A freely accessible online database of citations for systematic reviews of relevance to veterinary medicine and science. The systematic reviews in VetSRev are found by searches of the PubMed and CAB Abstracts databases using specialised search filters, as well as alerts and contact with authors.
BestBETs for Vets
"BET" stands for Best Evidence Topic. Simple reviews of current best evidence to answer specific clinical questions.
CONSULTANT
Covers 7,000 diseases of 8 species. Avian is the only exotic covered. Provided by the Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine.
Plumb's Academic
A full suite of clinical decision support, essential veterinary drug information, and shareable pet owner education, all on one easy-to-use platform.
VIN (Veterinary Information Network)
Provides access to the veterinary literature and citations plus: message boards, conference proceedings, drug formularies, Anatomy in 3D, the VIN Virtual Clinic, and more. Note: VIN requires users to become members, but students and faculty can qualify for free access.

Your Librarian

Brad Kuennen

he/him/his

Email Me

Contact:

Vet Med Library
2280 Patterson Hall
1800 Christensen Drive
Ames, IA 50011-1134

515-294-2225

Subjects: Agriculture, Animal Science, Veterinary Medicine

Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery

Not all journals that are online have a complete set of back issues available. Also, print journal back issues are held at the Vet Med Library for only a limited number of years before they are sent to Parks Library or library storage.

If you are unable to easily access the print article that you need, submit a request through the Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery Service.

If the library owns a print copy of the journal you should receive a scanned copy of the article within one business day. If the library does not own a copy your request will be sent to other libraries who will be able to fulfill your request usually within a matter of days.

Interlibrary Loan Request Form (ILLiad)
Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery tutorial
1 min. 57 secs. Short introduction on how to request articles and books. This includes things OWNED by ISU Library and also thing we can borrow from another library FOR you.