Skip to Main Content

Patents: A How-To-Find Guide

Information on locating full-text of patents granted worldwide.

Patents in Iowa

The USPTO's Patent Full Text database advanced search can be used to find patents from Iowa published after 1975:

  • Enter is/IA to find patents where the Inventor's state is Iowa
  • Enter aast/IA to find patents where the Applicant's state is Iowa
  • Enter as/IA to find patents where the Assignee's state is Iowa

Patents from 1975 or earlier cannot be searched by state. The Iowa Inventors Database below can help you find patents from this time period.

Iowa inventors database

Based out of the State Library of Iowa, this database covers Iowa inventors and inventions from 1843 through 2009. The database is searchable by inventor's name, title of the invention, the inventor's residence (town or county), date the patent was granted, and patent number.

Patent depository library in Iowa

Davenport Public Library (DPL) became an all-electronic Patent Depository Library in 2011. It is currently the only Patent Depository in Iowa.

DPL offers electronic access to patents via PUBWEST (Web based examiner tool), the system used by patent examiners. PUBWEST features more search options than the USPTO Web, allows for multiple-page printing and also includes EPO and JPO abstracts. Full-text searching availability is the same as that at the USPTO Web site. Additional limited full-text searching back to 1920 is available, but because of imperfect scanned images, this should not take the place of a classification search.

Davenport Public Library's archives continues to house print materials from prior to its USPTO designation:Patent Gazettes-1956-2002, Patent Indexes 1953-1965 and 1967-2002, Trademark Gazettes 1973-2003, and incomplete coverage of Trademark Indexes 1957-1997.

For more information, see their website at: http://www.davenportlibrary.com or contact the Davenport Public Library Reference Desk at 563-326-7845 or via e-mail.

Reference Department
Davenport Public Library
321 N. Main St.
Davenport, IA 52801

Patent process at ISU

The ISU Office of Innovation Commercialization handles the patenting process for ISU faculty, staff and researchers. There is currently no support service available to ISU students for patenting their inventions.

Profile Photo
Erin Thomas
she/her/hers
Contact:
150 Parks Library
Iowa State University
515 294-9886