Library Guides: US Latino/a Studies Research Guide: Getting Started

Archival Databases

Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 This link opens in a new window
U.S. Latino history, literature and cultural content from historic Latino newspapers and serials. Includes articles, political and religious pamphlets and broadsides, and complete texts of books on Latino literature and culture. Content is written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%)
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2 This link opens in a new window
Collection of selected content from manuscripts, books, and newspapers related to U.S. Latino civil rights, religion, and women's rights from the 18th through 20th centuries. Includes rare books, rare historical newspapers and personal and organizational manuscript content. Content is written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%).
Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press Collection This link opens in a new window
This database includes historic full-text facsimiles of historic Mexican & Mexican American regional newspapers from Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s, plus national magazines such as Américas. Most publications are in Spanish; coverage is 1800s-1970s.

Welcome!

Welcome! Looking for resources for Latino Studies research? This Guide will help you find authoritative resources, research, and materials in interdisciplinary areas as well as specific Latino Studies sub-disciplines, including some sources for Latin American studies. I'm Susan Vega García, the librarian working with Latino Studies subject areas.

Browse & Use the menu to find the research tools and information you need.

Need assistance? Use the buttons below my photo to contact me either by email or set up a research consultation appointment with me.

Quick Start: Find Articles

Databases below are useful for finding articles relevant to US Latino studies.

HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) This link opens in a new window
Your number 1 choice for finding scholarly articles on US Latinx and Latin American research topics. Includes some full-text; articles are in English, Spanish, Portuguese, and other languages.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from U.S. racial and ethnic minority newspapers, news magazines, and some journals. Latinx newspapers in Spanish and English are included.
Informe Académico This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from Spanish-language scholarly journals and magazines in a variety of disciplines; includes some Portuguese and English-language articles. Strong focus on Latin American journals, along with journals from Spain & the US; includes some US Latino content. Search interface default is Spanish; use top menu drop-down to select a different interface language if desired.

Latin American Focus

The boundaries between US Latino studies and Latin American studies can often blur, and many info needs may require resources from both. Here are a few databases & research tools with a strong Latin American focus. The HAPI database also provides very strong coverage of Latin American research articles in the humanities and social sciences.

HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to research articles published worldwide on Latin American issues in the social sciences and humanities. Also provides strong coverage of Mexican American, Puerto Rican, Cuban American, and other US Latino research. Some full-text may be available for selected publications. Articles are in Spanish, English, Portuguese, French, and other languages. An essential research tool for anyone doing research on Latin American and / or US Latino topics.
Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
Created and maintained by the Library of Congress, this resource is a selective annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin America in the social sciences and humanities. Some US Latino content may also be included. It is important to note that this resource is an annotated bibliography rather than a full-text database. Citations to articles or other documents that are retrieved in a search in HLAS must then be searched in Quick Search or WorldCat.
Latin American Women Writers This link opens in a new window
This collection of literature by Latin American women covers the colonial period in the 17th century forward to the present. Contains literary works, along with memoirs and essays, in their original language.
Redalyc This link opens in a new window
The Redalyc project (Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y El Caribe, España y Portugal) is a bibliographic database and a digital library of academic Open Access journals, primarily produced in Latin America. Articles and content materials are primarily in Spanish, Portuguese, or English. The database is supported by the Universidad Autónoma del Estado de México with the help of numerous other higher education institutions and information systems.

SciELO
SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online) covers academic literature from primarily Latin American Open Access journals in the humanities, social sciences, and the sciences. SciELO can be searched in Spanish, Portuguese, or English. "Originally established in Brazil in 1997, today there are 16 countries in the SciELO network and its journal collections: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, Mexico, Paraguay, Peru, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, Uruguay, and Venezuela."

Your Librarian

Susan A. Vega García

she | hers

Email Me

Contact:

Associate Professor & Librarian
150 Parks Library
Iowa State University
Ames IA 50011
she | her | hers

Subjects: Ethnic Studies, Cultures & Communities, Women's & Gender Studies

News Stories Podcasts

latino usa
Current stories on a wide variety of Latino topics of interest; in English
Radio Ambulante
Historias de toda América Latina. In Spanish; if desired choose EN for English language version via top horizontal menu