Library Guides: Classical Studies Research Guide: Free Online Resources

General Classical Civilization

Diotíma
A resource for information on women, gender, sex, sexualities, race, ethnicity, class, status, masculinity, enslavement, disability, and the intersections among them in the ancient Mediterranean world.
Classics Confidential
Classics Confidential hosts short video and audio interviews with people who are passionate about Classics and the ancient Greek and Roman worlds.

JSTOR: Open Content This link opens in a new window
This is a subset of the full JSTOR collection, limited to content found in the JSTOR Open Collection. It is primarily a collection of book chapters, but it also contains several thousand freely-accessible journal articles.

Eidolon (archive)
Eidolon was an online journal for scholarly writing about Classics that isn’t formal scholarship. The publication ended in December 2020, but its content is still public online and free to read.

The free resources below provide information about ancient Greek History, Civilization, and Religion.

The History of Ancient Greece Podcast
A podcast series covering Ancient Greek & Hellenistic political, social, and cultural history from prehistory to the Roman conquest.
Hestia
Using a digital text of Herodotus’s Histories, Hestia uses web-mapping technologies such as GIS, Google Earth and the Narrative TimeMap to investigate the cultural geography of the ancient world through the eyes of one of its first witnesses.

The free resources are useful for those studying or researching Classical Greek, from the Homeric to Hellenistic tradition.

Perseus Project: an Evolving Digital Library on Ancient Greece
Includes a large database of images (coins, vases, sculpture), Greek text and translations, resources for textual studies, and English word searches of the texts.
LRC Classical Greek Online
Founded in 1961, the Linguistics Research Center (LRC) provides linguistic resources for specialists and non-specialists alike. Over the last several years the LRC has worked to create a robust set of online materials dedicated to the most archaic members of the Indo-European language family.
LSJ Greek-English Lexicon
An online, searchable version of Henry George Liddell & Robert Scott's Greek-English Lexicon. Oxford, Clarendon Press, 1940.
Online Greek Grammar Learning Tools & Study Aids
This page will provide links to explanatory grammatical pages and grammatical charts within our web site as well as links to other resources that may help you learn, review, or refresh your understanding of biblical Greek grammar.
Chicago Homer
The Chicago Homer is a multilingual database that uses the search and display capabilities of electronic texts to make the distinctive features of Early Greek epic accessible to readers with and without Greek.
AtticGreek.org
AtticGreek.org is the home of the revised Ancient Greek Tutorials by Donald Mastronarde, and includes a Pronunciation Guide, Vocabulary list, Verb and Noun drills, and more.

The free resources below provide information about ancient Greek History, Civilization, Law, and Religion.

The Roman Empie
This open access book analyses the origins and nature of Roman imperialism, its economic, social, and cultural impact on the regions it conquered, and its continuing influence in discussions and debates about modern imperialism.
Analytical Bibliography of Online Neo-Latin Texts
This is an analytic bibliography of Latin texts written during the Renaissance and later that are freely available to the general public on the Web.
Roman Law Resources (University of Glasgow)
This site provides information on Roman law sources and literature, the teaching of Roman law, and the persons who study Roman law. The site is available in English and German. Users are invited to submit to this site any materials or information which might interest other users.
Aufstieg und Niedergang der Romischen Welt
A searchable index to the print series of the same title, containing citations to articles from the series on the world of ancient Rome.

The free resources below provide support for those studying and researching the Latin language.

LRC Introduction to Latin
Founded in 1961, the Linguistics Research Center (LRC) provides linguistic resources for specialists and non-specialists alike. Over the last several years the LRC has worked to create a robust set of online materials dedicated to the most archaic members of the Indo-European language family.
Latin Dictionary and Grammar Aid
Lynn Nelson produced this wordlist to help students read Medieval Latin. The gender and declension of nouns is not provided nor is the conjugation of verbs. It contains fewer than 6000 words. Type in a Latin phrase or word. Press the button (or Enter). Cross your fingers.
New Latin Grammar by Bennett
Standard Latin grammar textbook
Open Access Latin Textbooks
A collection of Latin textbooks published by Open Book Publishers.
Digital Latin Library
Publishing and curating critical editions of Latin texts, of all types, from all eras, and facilitating an ongoing scholarly conversation about these texts through open collaboration and annotation.

Classical Mythology

Iowa State University's Classical Studies faculty have wide-ranging expertise in Classical Civilization as well as the Classical Languages of Latin and Greek. The video below highlights a project helmed by Alexander Hall, Professor of Classical Studies and Latin. Below that video are some free resources on the topic of Classical Myths.

Encyclopedia Mythica: mythology, folklore, and religion.
An encyclopedia on mythology, folklore, legends, and more. It contains over 5700 definitions of gods and goddesses, supernatural beings and legendary creatures and monsters from all over the world.
Vols. I & II: Stories of Gods and Heroes, or Age of Fable
Access to the full text of Bulfinch's mythology; some chapters still being added.
About Ancient/Classical History: Mythology
Excellent collection of links relating to mythology.

Other Resources

Database of Classical Scholars (Rutgers)
The Database of Classical Scholars is a multi-faceted database that aims to provide biographical and bibliographical information on classical scholars from the period associated with classical scholarship as currently understood, from the end of the eighteenth century to the current day.

Becca Yowler

she/they

Email Me

Subjects: Anthropology, History, World Languages & Cultures