Find the newest books on these topics!
Be the Innovators by
Want to know how creative people innovate? This book gives you models and practices that you can use with your team to help you be the innovators of your organisation.Organisations are growing in a complex technology-driven environment and chief executives have expressed the need for more creative employees to steer innovation. Be the Innovators provides readers with ideas for benchmarking best practices in innovation, empowering creative excellence, leveragingcollective growth and connecting a spectrum of individual and team ideas. Based on the belief that innovations change peopleas lives, Peter Ling provides insights into innovative individuals, companies and countries. He illustrates how to empower employees to engage in corporate mission, values andvision.This is a practical book for private, public and non-profit organisations to develop and refine leadership skills through innovation. It will trigger new creative connections in readers' minds to help accelerate innovation through team creativity. It will also accelerate your personal, team andgroup creativity processes to help your corporation innovate in many ways.
Call Number: HD53 L56x 2016ISBN: 9780195590173Publication Date: 2016
Creative Confidence by
IDEO founder and Stanford d.school creator David Kelley and his brother Tom Kelley, IDEO partner and the author of the bestselling The Art of Innovation, have written a powerful and compelling book on unleashing the creativity that lies within each and every one of us. Too often, companies and individuals assume that creativity and innovation are the domain of the "creative types." But two of the leading experts in innovation, design, and creativity on the planet show us that each and every one of us is creative. In an incredibly entertaining and inspiring narrative that draws on countless stories from their work at IDEO, the Stanford d.school, and with many of the world's top companies, David and Tom Kelley identify the principles and strategies that will allow us to tap into our creative potential in our work lives, and in our personal lives, and allow us to innovate in terms of how we approach and solve problems. It is a book that will help each of us be more productive and successful in our lives and in our careers.
Call Number: HD53 K4534 2013ISBN: 9780385349369Publication Date: 2013
Diffusion of Innovations by
Now in its fifth edition, Diffusion of Innovations is a classic work on the spread of new ideas. In this renowned book, Everett M. Rogers, professor and chair of the Department of Communication & Journalism at the University of New Mexico, explains how new ideas spread via communication channels over time. Such innovations are initially perceived as uncertain and even risky. To overcome this uncertainty, most people seek out others like themselves who have already adopted the new idea. Thus the diffusion process consists of a few individuals who first adopt an innovation, then spread the word among their circle of acquaintances--a process which typically takes months or years. But there are exceptions: use of the Internet in the 1990s, for example, may have spread more rapidly than any other innovation in the history of humankind. Furthermore, the Internet is changing the very nature of diffusion by decreasing the importance of physical distance between people. The fifth edition addresses the spread of the Internet, and how it has transformed the way human beings communicate and adopt new ideas.
Call Number: HM621 R57 2003ISBN: 0743222091Publication Date: 2003
Life Entrepreneurs by
"An inspirational and practical guide for anyone who wants toincorporate the dynamic skills of entrepreneurs into their ownlives and work. A new generation of "life entrepreneurs" is emerging: people whoapply their vision, talents, creativity, and energy not only totheir work but to their entire lives, changing the world forthemselves and those around them. In this book, successfulentrepreneurs Christopher Gergen and Gregg Vanourek draw onnumerous interviews with fifty-five leading entrepreneurs worldwideas well as the wisdom of multiple thought leaders to provide vividexamples, moving vignettes, concrete frameworks, and practicalstrategies for revving up our work and play through entrepreneurialleadership. This book starts by providing strategies forintegrating life, work, and purpose and ends by capturing theimplications of the current entrepreneurial boom for ourworkplaces, learning institutions, communities, and families. Christopher Gergen (Washington, D.C.) is a founding partner ofNew Mountain Ventures, co-founder and chairman of SMARTHINKING,Adjunct Professor and Director of the Entrepreneurial LeadershipInitiative at Duke University, and a life-long entrepreneur, Gregg Vanourek (Thornton, CO) is a founding partner of NewMountain Ventures, former CEO of Vanourek Consulting Solutions, andformer Senior Vice President of School Development for K12Inc."
Call Number: HD53 G47 2008ISBN: 9780787988623Publication Date: 2008
Made to Stick by
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * The instant classic about why some ideas thrive, why others die, and how to improve your idea's chances--essential reading in the "fake news" era. Mark Twain once observed, "A lie can get halfway around the world before the truth can even get its boots on." His observation rings true: Urban legends, conspiracy theories, and bogus news stories circulate effortlessly. Meanwhile, people with important ideas--entrepreneurs, teachers, politicians, and journalists--struggle to make them "stick." In Made to Stick, Chip and Dan Heath reveal the anatomy of ideas that stick and explain ways to make ideas stickier, such as applying the human scale principle, using the Velcro Theory of Memory, and creating curiosity gaps. Along the way, we discover that sticky messages of all kinds--from the infamous "kidney theft ring" hoax to a coach's lessons on sportsmanship to a vision for a new product at Sony--draw their power from the same six traits. Made to Stick will transform the way you communicate. It's a fast-paced tour of success stories (and failures): the Nobel Prize-winning scientist who drank a glass of bacteria to prove a point about stomach ulcers; the charities who make use of the Mother Teresa Effect; the elementary-school teacher whose simulation actually prevented racial prejudice. Provocative, eye-opening, and often surprisingly funny, Made to Stick shows us the vital principles of winning ideas--and tells us how we can apply these rules to making our own messages stick.
Call Number: HM1033 H43 2008ISBN: 9781400064281Publication Date: 2007
The Oxford Handbook of Innovation by
This handbook looks to provide academics and students with a comprehensive and holistic understanding of the phenomenon of innovation.Innovation spans a number of fields within the social sciences and humanities: Management, Economics, Geography, Sociology, Policy Studies, Psychology, and History. Consequently, the rapidly increasing body of literature on innovation is characterized by a multitude of perspectives based on, orcutting across, existing disciplines and specializations. Scholars of innovation can come from such diverse starting points that much of this literature can be missed, and so constructive dialogues missed.The editors of The Oxford Handbook of Innovation have carefully selected and designed twenty-one contributions from leading academic experts within their particular field, each focusing on a specific aspect of innovation. These have been organized into four main sections, the first of which looks atthe creation of innovations, with particular focus on firms and networks. Section Two provides an account of the wider systematic setting influencing innovation and the role of institutions and organizations in this context. Section Three explores some of the diversity in the working of innovationover time and across different sectors of the economy, and Section Four focuses on the consequences of innovation with respect to economic growth, international competitiveness, and employment.An introductory overview, concluding remarks, and guide to further reading for each chapter, make this handbook a key introduction and vital reference work for researchers, academics, and advanced students of innovation.
Call Number: T173.8 O89 2005ISBN: 0199264554Publication Date: 2004
Ten Types of Innovation by
Innovation principles to bring about meaningful and sustainablegrowth in your organization Using a list of more than 2,000 successful innovations,including Cirque du Soleil, early IBM mainframes, the Ford Model-T,and many more, the authors applied a proprietary algorithm anddetermined ten meaningful groupings?the Ten Types ofInnovation?that provided insight into innovation. The TenTypes of Innovation explores these insights to diagnosepatterns of innovation within industries, to identify innovationopportunities, and to evaluate how firms are performing againstcompetitors. The framework has proven to be one of the mostenduring and useful ways to start thinking abouttransformation. Details how you can use these innovation principles to bringabout meaningful?and sustainable?growth within yourorganization Author Larry Keeley is a world renowned speaker, innovationconsultant, and president and co-founder of Doblin, the innovationpractice of Monitor Group; BusinessWeek named Keeley one of sevenInnovation Gurus who are changing the field The Ten Types of Innovation concept has influenced thousands ofexecutives and companies around the world since its discovery in1998. The Ten Types of Innovation is the first bookexplaining how to implement it.
Call Number: HD53 K44x 2013ISBN: 9781118504246Publication Date: 2013
The Innovator's Guide to Growth by
More than a decade ago, Clayton Christensen's breakthrough book The Innovator's Dilemma illustrated how disruptive innovations drive industry transformation and market creation. Christensen's research demonstrated how growth-seeking incumbents must develop the capability to deflect disruptive attacks and seize disruptive opportunities. In The Innovator's Guide to Growth, Scott Anthony, Mark Johnson, Joseph Sinfield, and Elizabeth Altman take the subject to the next level: implementation. The authors explain how to create this crucial capability for unlocking disruption's transformational power. With a foreword by Christensen, this book provides a set of market-proven tools and approaches to innovation that have been honed through fieldwork with innovative companies like Procter & Gamble, Johnson & Johnson, Pepsi, Intel, Motorola, SAP, and Cisco Systems. The book shows you how to: Follow a market-proven process -- so your company can reliably create blockbuster businesses Create structures, systems, and metrics -- so the disruptive innovations that will power your firm's future growth receive the funding and personnel needed to succeed Create a common language of disruptive innovation -- so managers can reach consensus around counterintuitive courses of action Incisive and practical, this book helps your company take the steps necessary to benefit from disruption -- instead of being eclipsed by it.
Call Number: HD45 I542 2008ISBN: 9781591398462Publication Date: 2008-05-27
