Library Guides: JL MC 4060 & JL MC 5060: Media Management: Article Databases

Databases of Business Periodicals

Access World News
This is a collection of more than 12,000 newspapers and other news sources from nearly 200 countries, from 1980 to the present. It provides full-text access to several major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles. Almost 20 different languages are represented. Platform is updated daily making it good source for current events.

Access World News tutorial
ABI/INFORM Global
Search worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business topics.
ABI/INFORM Global tutorial
Business Source Elite
Business Source Elite provides full text for nearly 1,060 journals covering business, management, economics, finance, banking, accounting.
Business Source Elite tutorial
Communication Abstracts
Provides abstracts for nearly 350 journals covering communication and other closely-related fields of study. Most of the journals have searchable cited references.
Small Business Source
The Small Business Source is a comprehensive resource for small business owners and those interested in starting a business. Users may search within specific ‘Business Topics’ and ‘Business Types’ relevant to their needs.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
CMMC provides full-text, indexing and abstracts for hundreds communication journals covering related disciplines such as media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse. Many of the journals have searchable cited references.
Regional Business News
This platform contains full-text material for regional business publications. Content is mainly from publishers of business news and includes newspaper articles, radio and television news transcripts, trade publications and newswires.
Regional Business News tutorial
Academic Search Ultimate
This database covers almost all subject areas and is especially good at interdisciplinary areas. Good place to start for class assignments. It contains full text articles for more than 6,500 journals.
Web of Science Core Collection
Web of Science Core is a database of “core publications” across all disciplines. This database has a cited reference search tool that can be used for searching for a specific item from a citation.
Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Results are limited to just scholarly sources. It includes content from academic websites such as publishers, universities and professional associations. It will find presentations, Word documents, and other file types not typically found in other databases.
Scopus
A large database containing scholarly journal articles and conference papers on any topic in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Includes cited references and h-index information.
Scopus tutorial

Librarian

Charles Yier

Email Me

Contact:

150 Parks Library
Iowa State University

515-294-4681

Subjects: Apparel, Events & Hospitality Management, Journalism & Mass Communication, Law