Library Guides: Gerontology: Handbooks & Encyclopedias

lists

Handbook of the Psychology of Aging
Provides a basic reference source on the behavioral processes of aging for researchers, graduate students, and professionals. It also provides perspectives on the behavioral science of aging for researchers and professionals from other disciplines.
Handbook of Cognitive Aging
Cognitive function is clearly an essential component of health and well-being across the life span, and understanding the relationship of aging to cognitive function is increasingly a high priority for society because of the realities of population aging and because of its intrinsic relevance to the lives of aging members of society.
Handbook of the Sociology of Aging
With its recurring attention to the social forces that shape human aging, and the social consequences and policy implications of it, the contents will be of interest to everyone who cares about what aging means for individuals, families, and societies
Encyclopedia of Aging
Encompasses all aspects of aging, covering a variety of disciplines including biology, medicine, economics, law psychology, sociology and history, and also explores related issues such as religion, spirituality, and ethics.
Encyclopedia of Death & Dying
Covering all aspects of death and dying -- biological, medical, social, sociological, psychological, religious, and philosophical -- the 2-vol. Macmillan Encyclopedia of Death and Dying also provides a deep historical and cross-cultural perspective through the ages.
The Encyclopedia of Elder Care
Responding to the needs of providers, directcare workers, family, and other caregivers, the diverse array of entries included in this encyclopedia recognize and address the complex medical, social, and psychological problems associated with geriatric care.

In Print Only

Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences by Linda George (Editor); Kenneth Ferraro (Editor)
Call Number: HQ1061 H336 2016
ISBN: 9780124172357
Publication Date: 2015
Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences, Eighth Edition, presents the extraordinary growth of research on aging individuals, populations, and the dynamic culmination of the life course, providing a comprehensive synthesis and review of the latest research findings in the social sciences of aging. As the complexities of population dynamics, cohort succession, and policy changes modify the world and its inhabitants in ways that must be vigilantly monitored so that aging research remains relevant and accurate, this completely revised edition not only includes the foundational, classic themes of aging research, but also a rich array of emerging topics and perspectives that advance the field in exciting ways. New topics include families, immigration, social factors, and cognition, caregiving, neighborhoods, and built environments, natural disasters, religion and health, and sexual behavior, amongst others.
The SAGE Handbook of Aging, Work and Society by Ronald J. Burke (Editor); Cary L. Cooper (Editor); John Field; John Field (Editor)
Call Number: HD6279 S24x 2013
ISBN: 9781446207826
Publication Date: 2013-10-16
Aging has emerged as a major and urgent issue for individuals, organisations and governments of our time. In this well-timed and comprehensive handbook, key international contributors to the field of study come together to create a definitive map of the subject. Framed by an authoritative introductory chapter, the SAGE Handbook of Aging, Work and Society offers a critical overview of the most significant themes and topics, with discussions of current research, theoretical controversies and emerging issues, divided into sections covering: Key Issues and Challenges The Aging Workforce Managing an Aging Workforce Living in an Aging Society Developing Public Policy