Library Guides: JL MC 5010: Theories of Mass Communication: Indexes & Databases

Finding Newspapers

Newspapers Libguide

LibKey Nomad

To simplify your access to ISU Library's subscription resources, you may want to consider downloading the LibKey Nomad browser extension. Learn more about LibKey Nomad.

Key Databases

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
CMMC provides full-text, indexing and abstracts for hundreds communication journals covering related disciplines such as media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse. Many of the journals have searchable cited references.
Communication Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts for nearly 350 journals covering communication and other closely-related fields of study. Most of the journals have searchable cited references.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This database covers almost all subject areas and is especially good at interdisciplinary areas. Good place to start for class assignments. It contains full text articles for more than 6,500 journals.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core is a database of “core publications” across all disciplines. This database has a cited reference search tool that can be used for searching for a specific item from a citation.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A large database containing scholarly journal articles and conference papers on any topic in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Includes cited references and h-index information.
Scopus tutorial
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts includes journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers in sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences. It includes digitized current and back issues of academic journals, books and primary source materials.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Results are limited to just scholarly sources. It includes content from academic websites such as publishers, universities and professional associations. It will find presentations, Word documents, and other file types not typically found in other databases.

Librarian

Charles Yier

Email Me

Contact:

150 Parks Library
Iowa State University

515-294-4681

Subjects: Apparel, Events & Hospitality Management, Journalism & Mass Communication, Law