History of Psychology
Research methods
- SAGE Research Methods Cases This link opens in a new windowSage Research Methods Cases includes over 450 case studies of real social research. Specially commissioned and designed to help students understand often abstract methodological concepts, Cases carries faculty and students through real research projects using reliable pedagogical features such as learning objects and exercise questions.
Controversial topics:
The two databases that follow offer great ideas for research subjects, offering both pro and con views, along with overviews of a subject, current situation, and bibliographies. Are you having trouble coming up with a good topic? Or do you have a topic but you need more information about the issues involved? Check out the two sources below.
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new windowExplore topics such as the effect of the internet on thinking, cyberbullying, Alzheimer's disease, eating disorders, and the recovered memory debate. An excellent choice.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowCovers topics such as obesity, drug abuse, autism, artificial intelligence, child abuse, gambling, and peer pressure.
Encyclopedias
In addition to encyclopedias such as Credo Reference and Wikipedia, there are specialized encyclopedias that focus on one discipline or topic. The following are online encyclopedias helpful for psychology topics.
- Elsevier's Dictionary of Psychological Theories2006. Elsevier.
A dictionary focused solely on psychological theories, both good and bad. - Encyclopedia of Aging2006. Springer.
From their website: Since its inception in 1987, "The definitive resource for scholars and students across the burgeoning and increasingly interdisciplinary fields of gerontology and geriatrics. Topics include genetics, biology, psychology, social services, and economics. - Encyclopedia of Critical Psychology2014. Springer.
Presents alternative analyses of global psychological events, processes, and practices in an A-Z format."Enables readers to apply a critical approach" (from their website). - Encyclopedia of Death and the Human Experience2009. Sage.
From their website: "This two-volume resource addresses the traditional death and dying–related topics but also presents a unique focus on the human experience to create a new dimension to the study of death and dying. With more than 300 entries, the Encyclopedia of Death and the Human Experience includes the complex cultural beliefs and traditions and the institutionalized social rituals that surround dying and death, as well as the array of emotional responses relating to bereavement, grieving, and mourning." - Encyclopedia of the History of Psychological Theories2012. Springer.
Covers the history of psychological theories from ancient thinkers to the present time. - Macmillan Encyclopedia of Death and Dying
2003. Macmillan Reference.
From the website: "Covering all aspects of death and dying -- biological, medical, social, sociological, psychological, religious, and philosophical -- the 2-vol. Macmillan Encyclopedia of Death and Dying also provides a deep historical and cross-cultural perspective through the ages." - Encyclopedia of Health & Behavior2004. Gale.
From web site: "includes over 200 entries on topics covering all aspects of health and behavior. In addition, the Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior includes a comprehensive set of additional resources with both entries on selected organizations and an appendix with a detailed annotated listing of such organizations as well as Web sites of interest." - Encyclopedia of School Psychology2005. Gale
From web site: "Comprehensive guide to the field of school psychology featuring the latest research on school learning, motivation, and educational assessment. Entries on psychology, education and counseling, child development, and special education address student success, behavior disorders, intelligence testing, learning disabilities, strategies to improve academic skills, and more." - Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Disorders2003. Gale.
From web site: "Provides understandable yet detailed information on mental disorders and conditions, written in language understandable to the adult layperson. Includes entries for all 150 disorders classified in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, text revision (DSM-IV-TR). It also features entries for prescription, alternative and over-the-counter drugs, as well as the various therapies used to treat mental disorders." - A Practical Encyclopedia of Mental HealthA very understandable explanation of abnormal psychological terms that can be found in DSM-5.