Skip to Main Content

Morrill Act & Land-Grant Universities

This guide is for researchers interested in learning more about the history of the Morrill Act and land-grant universities in the U.S. Each tab contains links to web-accessible resources and tips for finding additional information.

Related Books

ROTC links

ISU has programs for Army, Navy, and Air Force ROTC. Army training was available in 1869. All able-bodied male students were expected to participate even though it was not required by the Morrill Act or the federal government; however, the federal government did not authorize commissioning of officers until 1919. From 1878-1897, female students received military training on a volunteer basis. Starting in 1919, army training consisted of a required two-year and a voluntary two-year advanced program. The Naval unit was established in 1926. The Air Force ROTC unit was established in 1949. In 1962, the basic ROTC program was placed on an elective basis.

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Lorrie Pellack
Head, Research & Instruction Services Dept.
150c Parks Library
Ames, IA 50011-2140
Phone: 515-294-5569