Skip to Main Content

Morrill Act & Land-Grant Universities

This guide is for researchers interested in learning more about the history of the Morrill Act and land-grant universities in the U.S. Each tab contains links to web-accessible resources and tips for finding additional information.

How Many of These Do You Know?

See if you can correctly match up the important historical figures with their role in the Morrill Act and history of ISU:
(clicking on a name will open a biographical page about the person)

1. George W. Atherton A. Iowa legislator and framer of the bill to create the Iowa State Agricultural College.
2. Suel Foster B. 1st President of the Iowa State Agricultural College.
3. Benjamin F. Gue C. Advocate for federal funding to support agricultural education. Sponsor of the 1890 Morrill Act and prime mover to enact the Hatch Act.
4. Perry G. Holden D. Wrote the 1st draft of the 1883 Experiment Station bill which later became the Hatch Act. Known as the “Father of Extension in the United States.”
5. Seaman Knapp E. Sponsor of the 1862 Morrill Act.
6. Justin Smith Morrill F. Originator of the land-grant idea.
7. Isaac Phillips Roberts G. 1st President of the Board of Trustees & agricultural journalistwho campaigned for the creation of a farmer’s college in Iowa.
8. Jonathan Baldwin Turner H. 1st Professor of Agriculture at Iowa State Agricultural Collegewho later served asProfessor of Agriculture at Cornell University.
9. Adonijah Welch I. Founder of the “corn trains” and 1st director of Iowa extension.


Answers: 1C, 2G, 3A, 4I, 5D, 6E, 7H, 8F, 9B

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Lorrie Pellack
Head, Research & Instruction Services Dept.
150c Parks Library
Ames, IA 50011-2140
Phone: 515-294-5569