Library Guides: Transportation Engineering Research Guide: Find Books

E-books

Knovel e-book collection This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary materials data and other technical data. Includes Knovel Critical Tables.
Please note that for members of the public visiting Parks Library, this resource is only available from a Parks Library workstation, and not from a mobile device connected to the campus wireless network:
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
This collection of ebooks is focused primarily on computing and technology subjects as well as a small collection of personal and professional development books.
Please note that this resource is not available to members of the public visiting Parks Library.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley is one of the world's largest scholarly publishers. You can access ISU’s subscription journals and purchased ebooks, as well as open access publications, through the Wiley Online Library.

Government Reports

Almost all USDOT and state DOT reports can be found through one of the following sources:

HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
A very large (17+ million items) collection of digitized books and journals, including full access to items in the public domain. To enable additional full-text access, after the HathiTrust page loads, click on "Login" in the upper right corner, then select "Iowa State University" on the dropdown list, and enter your ISU Net-ID and password.

ROSA P - Repository & Open Science Access Portal
A collection of full-text resources from the National Transportation Library, including reports of USDOT-funded research.

TRID: Transport Research International Documentation This link opens in a new window
TRID covers research on all modes and disciplines of transportation. Records are international in scope with strong coverage of U.S. federal and state government transportation research.
WorldCat.org This link opens in a new window
Use WorldCat to learn which libraries have an item, by searching across thousands of libraries at once. Access through this link will provide ISU Library interlibrary loan and full text links.

Search Tips

Quick Search records include a brief description and location information for books, journals, and other items owned by the Library. You will also find records for individual articles. We recommend you choose an article index to search for journal articles, rather than using Quick Search.

Search Tips

You may use Boolean operators AND, OR or NOT to link or exclude concepts. Note: AND, OR and NOT must be capitalized!
If you are searching for books, use Tweak my results on the right of your search results page and choose Books under Format Type. Alternatively, use Quick Search's Advanced Search and choose Books under the Material Type drop-down menu. (Remember you will need to get the call number of your book to find it in the Library.)
To find ebooks, follow tip 2 above and then use Tweak my results to select Full Text Online under Availability. Use your ebook's Online access link to open and read the book!

General Resource Links

Want Live Help?

• Call 515-294-3642 during open hours,
or leave a message.