Pro Publica's stated mission is: "To expose abuses of power and betrayals of the public trust by government, business, and other institutions, using the moral force of investigative journalism to spur reform through the sustained spotlighting of wrongdoing"
"Founded in 1977 as the nation’s first nonprofit investigative journalism organization, The Center for Investigative Reporting has developed a reputation for being among the most innovative, credible and relevant media organizations in the country"
Established in 1990 the Advertising Archives is the largest and most comprehensive resource of its kind in Europe. collection spans the years from the mid 19th Century to the present day. Images include: British & American Press Ads, British & American Magazine Covers and Artwork, Rare French & Spanish Magazine Art, British TV Advertising Stills, Mail Order Catalogs, and more.
This site provides access to the Susan H. Douglas Collection of Political Americana. This collection includes pproximately 5,500 items of American political campaign memorabilia and commemorative items dating to between 1789 and 1960.
he Living Room Candidate contains more than 300 commercials, from every presidential election since 1952, when Madison Avenue advertising executive "Rosser Reeves convinced Dwight Eisenhower that short ads played during such popular TV programs as I Love Lucy would reach more voters than any other form of advertising."
"This site aims to collect vintage ads from a variety of sources, including comic books, CD-Roms, websites, APIs, your submissions, book, magazine & comic book scans, and more. At the moment, this site contains 123,310 ads."
Provided by Harvard University this site provides access to more than 6,000 pages of materials from from 155 catalogs and pamphlets from 70 companies. Trade catalogs can be browsed by topics such as Beauty Products, Clothing, Medicine, etc.
Created by the nonprofit Academy of Television Arts and Sciences Foundation, this FREE resource focuses on interviews. It makes available more than 850 videotaped interviews with television industry professionals who work in front of and behind the cameras. It chronicles the television industry from its earliest days to the present.