Library Guides: JL MC 4600: Law of Mass Communication: Additional Resources

Miscellaneous Tools & Resources (Print & Online)

First Amendment Resources
This is an comprehensive standalone guide containing First Amendment resources.
Congressional Record - Online
This is the bound version of the Congressional Record which began in 1873 and is still produced today.
United States Code Congressional and Administrative News. (1951-2009)
Monthly periodical containing full text of current public laws, committee reports, presidential messages, etc. and administrative rules and regulations of general interest.
Latest issues available in REF, older issues in GEN at K Un35cac
HG.org (Legal Resources)
HG.org is dedicated to making law, government and related professional information easily and freely accessible to users. This page contains plenty of resources related to media law.
Glossary of Legal Terms
"This site is maintained by the Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts on behalf of the Federal Judiciary. The purpose of this site is to provide information from and about the Judicial Branch of the U.S. Government"
Communication & Media Law Resources
This site has media law resources compiled and edited by Karla Tonella, University of Iowa.
Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press
"Reporters Committee publishes a number of legal guides that are available free online on topics ranging from state and federal open government laws, reporters’ shield protections around the country, access to court documents and proceedings, and more"
Digital Media Law Project (DMLP)
Wast created by Harvard University's Berkman Center. Despite still being online, "the website and its contents are no longer being updated"
Federal Communications Commission (FCC)
Regulates interstate and international communications by radio, television, wire, satellite and cable in all 50 states, the District of Columbia and U.S. territories
IBA - Legal & Compliance
This page lists legal and regulatory services available to members of Iowa Broadcasters Association. The goal is to help member stations stay in compliance with FCC rules and regulations.

How does a bill become a law?

Iowa General Assembly - How a Bill Becomes a Law.
Detailed description of the process presented by the Iowa Legislature. Click on the link at the bottom to see the flow chart for this process.
How Our Laws Are Made
First published in 1953 by the Committee on the Judiciary of the House of Representatives, this edition of How Our Laws Are Made. Prepared by the Office of the Parliamentarian of the U.S. House of Representatives in consultation with the Office of the Parliamentarian of the U.S. Senate this document outlines the steps followed by the Federal legislature.

Encyclopedias

Aside from the general encylopedia's listed below, the library collection also has topical encyclopedia's such as the Encyclopedia of ethical, legal, and policy issues in biotechnology. Try searching the catalog for specific topics of interest.

Guide to American Law: Everyone's Legal Encyclopedia
Designed for general use. This encyclopedia is arranged alphabetically with detailed indexing at the end of each volume.
REF KF156 .G77 1983

Your Librarian

Charles Yier

Email Me

Contact:

150 Parks Library
Iowa State University

515-294-4681

Subjects: Apparel, Events & Hospitality Management, Journalism & Mass Communication, Law

JL MC 4600: Law of Mass Communication

Miscellaneous Tools & Resources (Print & Online)

How does a bill become a law?

Encyclopedias

Your Librarian

Organizational Web Sites