Library Guides: Legal Research Guide: Books

Reference Resources

A Dictionary of Law by Jonathan Law (Editor)
Call Number: Available ONLINE
ISBN: 9780192897497
Publication Date: 2022-06-17
Law 101: Everything You Need to Know About The American Legal System by Jay Feinman
Call Number: Available ONLINE
ISBN: 0199341699
Publication Date: 2014-09-01
Nolo's Encyclopedia of Everyday Law by Shae Irving; Editors of Nolo
Call Number: Click Title
ISBN: 9781413319989
Publication Date: 2013-12-12
A Handbook of Family Law Terms by Bryan A. Garner (editor)
Call Number: Click Title
ISBN: 9780314249067
Publication Date: 2001
Black's Law Dictionary, Standard Ninth Edition by Bryan A. Garner
Call Number: Click Title
ISBN: 9780314199492
Publication Date: 2009-06-25

EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes books selected by the ISU library for permanent purchase as well as books from a rotating collection. Some books have unlimited users and others may only be accessed by 1 user at a time. Click on the book title to see how many users it allows.

Business Expert Press
“Provides concise applied content in all areas of business. The collection has over 1,100 titles covering the fundamental themes and functions of business….There are books applicable to everyone (Portfolio and Project Management; Communication), and to specific fields – Big Data; quantitative decision making; public relations; sports marketing; retail; and, tourism and hospitality.”

ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary e-book collection many subject areas including Anthropology, Business & Economics, Education, Fine Arts, History, Language & Literature, Law, Psychology, Religion, and Social Sciences.
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
This collection of ebooks is focused primarily on computing and technology subjects. But it also has a robust amount of titles spanning many other disciplines.
Please note that this resource is not available to members of the public visiting Parks Library.
Springer e-Book Collection This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink provides full-text access to books published by Springer. Non-subscribed titles are identified by locked padlock symbol.
Researchers can purchase access to locked content, but we recommend you place an Interlibrary Loan request for these items as we can usually supply copies of them to you for no charge within 24-48 hours.

Irish Studies Online
"offers over 100 ebook volumes including the following series: Reappraisals in Irish History, Society for the Study of Nineteenth-Century Ireland, Liverpool Studies in Irish Literature, Clemson University Press, Writers and their Work, Eighteenth-Century Worlds, and Liverpool English Texts and Studies."

Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley is one of the world's largest scholarly publishers. You can access ISU’s subscription journals and purchased ebooks, as well as open access publications, through the Wiley Online Library.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
This e-book collection contains numerous encyclopedias and handbooks for the following areas: Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, General Reference, History, Information and Publishing, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, Social Science, & Technology.

FastTRAC - Search "Partner Libraries" Through Quick Search
If a book is not available in our collections, use the drop down menu on the right side of the search box by changing it from the default "ISU Libraries" to "Partner Libraries." This allows you to search seven other academic library catalogs in Iowa. You can request the item using the same interface.
Greater Western Library Alliance (GWLA)
The ISU Library may have reciprocal borrowing agreements with other libraries near you, through our partnership with GWLA.
Pick From Shelf Service
Anyone with a library account (members of the ISU community and library visitors) can request items, whether they are on the shelf or checked out. Up to 10 items can be requested, and they will be kept on the hold shelf at the chosen location for 10 days
Recommend a Purchase
You can also recommend books and other materials to be purchased by the library. For remote access, be sure to recommend an electronic version. If you need a print copy that is checked out, you can RECALL it from the user having it at the time.
Interlibrary Loan Request Form (ILLiad)
Need a book that ISU does not own? File an interlibrary loan request and have the book delivered to you directly if you are a distance student. The first time you log into interlibrary loan, you will need to fill out basic contact information.

WorldCat on FirstSearch This link opens in a new window
A library meta-catalog; ~90% of all U.S. libraries submit their collection records to WorldCat. FirstSearch is a more nuanced and higher quality search engine than the free WorldCat.org version.
WorldCat.org This link opens in a new window
Use WorldCat to learn which libraries have an item, by searching across thousands of libraries at once. Access through this link will provide ISU Library interlibrary loan and full text links.

Email Me

Contact:

150 Parks Library
Iowa State University

515-294-4681

Subjects: Apparel, Events & Hospitality Management, Journalism & Mass Communication, Law

New Title List
You can browse new titles added to the library collection and sort by different methods including format, subject etc.

Customs Valuation Encyclopedia, 1980-2003: An Informed Compliance Publication
Intended to provide guidance and information to the trade community. Interprets applicable laws of the U.S. Customs & Border Protection.
Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice
2014. Each entry presents a state-of-the-art assessment of a topic, clearly written for the student user.
Encyclopedia of Native American Legal Tradition
1998. First attempt to link Native Americans to the study of law.
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
2000. Comprehensive coverage of all aspects of constitutional law, as well as biographies of people who have had an impact on our government's legal framework
Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law
2003. A practical guide to law and its effects on its citizens.
Great American Judges: An Encyclopedia
2003. Biographical information on the 100 greatest state and federal judges of the United States.
West's Encyclopedia of American Law
"Provides current information on more than 5,000 legal topics."--Website