Library Guides: Legal Research Guide: Crime & Justice Statistics

Local & State Crime Data

Iowa Data: Public Safety
Contains data about law enforcement, fire protection, emergency services, military readiness, crime and incarceration in Iowa.
Iowa Department of Corrections
Contains daily statistics, recidivism rates and reports including those showing racial disparities.
Iowa State University Police Department "Activity Reports"
Contains brief reports and data related of various infractions on campus.

Crime & Justice Statistics, Including Judicial

United States Sentencing Commission (Interactive Data Analyzer)
"IDA is an online tool that can be used to explore, filter, customize, and visualize federal sentencing data for research, policy-making, and sentencing purposes"
Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS)
The "primary statistical agency of the Department of Justice ....The mission of BJS is to collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government"
Crime/Law Enforcement Stats (Uniform Crime Reporting Program)
Besides other roles, the UCR program "also provides information for students of criminal justice, researchers, the media, and the public"
Statistical Tables For The Federal Judiciary
"A collection of the most frequently requested tables of statistics on the workload of the U.S. courts and the federal probation and pretrial services system"
Federal Court Management Statistics
"Gives profiles for regional courts of appeals and district courts, plus national totals and rankings"
Federal Judicial Caseload Statistics
"Contains analysis, charts, and tables presenting data on the workload of the U.S. courts of appeals, district courts, and bankruptcy courts and of the federal probation and pretrial services system"
Wiretap Reports (United States Courts)
Each Wiretap Report uses tables, text, and charts to report information provided by federal and state officials on orders authorizing or approving interceptions of wire, oral, or electronic communications.
Judicial Facts and Figures
"Contains historical caseload data for the federal Judiciary for fiscal years 1990, 1995, 2000, 2005, and 2017 through 2021. This publication includes data on the U.S. courts of appeals, the U.S. district courts, and the U.S. bankruptcy courts"
Bankruptcy Filing Statistics
Includes quarterly filings data tables.
Federal Criminal Case Processing Statistics
"Provides access to the Federal Criminal Case Processing Statistics (FCCPS) Data Dictionary, which provides metadata describing the data files that are available for download from the FCCPS data tool"
Trafficking in Persons Report
The report includes global law enforcement data showing the number of prosecutions, convictions, victims identified and new or amended legislation.
Crime in The U.S (FBI)
Contains data and statistics from 1995 to 2019.
Crime Data Explorer (FBI)
FBI's Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program's "dynamic solution to presenting crime data in a more immediate venue that reflects the constant change in the nation’s crime circumstance"

Librarian

Charles Yier

Email Me

Contact:

150 Parks Library
Iowa State University

515-294-4681

Subjects: Apparel, Events & Hospitality Management, Journalism & Mass Communication, Law