Library Guides: Research Methodologies Guide: Home

Introduction to Research Methods

Research methods in the humanities and social sciences may differ significantly from research methods in the sciences. In addition to quantitative methods (using numbers to prove a hypothesis), Social Sciences/Humanities research methods also include various types of qualitative research. Most of those methods are described in this guide.

If you have any suggestions for types of research or links to descriptions of research methods not in this guide, please e-mail your subject librarian:

Subject Librarians
A list of ISU Library subject specialists including contact information

General Resources

This list includes links to general reference resources with information about research methods, websites, tutorials, and more!

SAGE Research Methods Core This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods includes over 175,000 pages of SAGE’s book, journal, research methods cases and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
SAGE Research Methods Foundations This link opens in a new window
This database provides introductory overviews to major research methods, covering their history, development and critical debates surrounding them.
SAGE Research Methods Cases This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods Cases includes over 450 case studies of real social research.
Credo Reference: Academic Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Credo includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. A good place to start for background information on your methodology of choice.

Research Methods Knowledge Base
A comprehensive web-based textbook that addresses all of the topics in a typical introductory undergraduate or graduate course in social research methods.

A Guide to Designing and Implementing Surveys
From the University of Wisconsin