Library Guides: Architecture and Landscape Architecture Research Guide: Green Architecture

Green Building Resources

Resources from Educational Institutions
Other Green Building Resources

Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education (AASHE)
"AASHE is an association of colleges and universities in the U.S. and Canada working to create a sustainable future. It was founded in 2006 with a mission to promote sustainability in all sectors of higher education - from governance and operations to curriculum and outreach - through education, communication, research and professional development. Businesses, NGO's, and government agencies can participate as AASHE partner members.

AASHE aims to advance the efforts of the entire campus sustainability community by uniting diverse initiatives and connecting practitioners to resources and professional development opportunities. The association also provides a professional home for campus sustainability coordinators and directors.

AASHE defines sustainability in an inclusive way, encompassing human and ecological health, social justice, secure livelihoods, and a better world for all generations."
Agents of Change
Agents of Change was funded by the U.S. Department of Education Fund for the Improvement of Postsecondary Education (FIPSE) 2000-2005, to better prepare students as future teachers, architects, and stewards of the built environment.
Center for Environmental Design Research (CEDR), UC Berkeley
"The Center for Environmental Design Research's mission is to foster research in environmental planning and design. Such research is aimed at increasing the factual content of planning and design decisions and at promoting systematic approaches to design decision making."
Center for the Built Environment (CBE), UC Berkeley
"Our mission is to improve the design, operation, and environmental quality of buildings by providing timely, unbiased information on building technologies and design techniques."
Green Building Research Center, UC Berkeley
"The Green Building Research Center (GBRC) at the University of California, Berkeley was created to advance and promote sustainable building design and operation on the UC Berkeley campus, and provide resources to aid other universities in similar efforts across the state." Includes, among other resources, research, projects, & best practices case studies.
Natural Energies Advanced Technologies [NEAT] Laboratory
UNLV School of Architecture laboratory, run by Alfredo Fernandez-Gonzales, exploring environmentally responsive design approaches.
Solar Energy and Building Physics Laboratory
Information on passive solar architecture, daylighting and photovoltaics.

BuildingGreen.com
"Information on green buildings, products, and technologies."
Buildings Technology Center
"The Buildings Technology Center (BTC) at Oak Ridge National Laboratory is the premier U.S. research facility devoted to the development of technologies that improve the energy efficiency and environmental compatibility of residential and commercial buildings."
Center for Maximum Building Potential Systems
Non-profit, demonstration and research organization. Projects and publications.
Meeting the 2030 Challenge Through Building Codes
Includes a single chart that provides the key to deciphering various building energy codes, standards and rating systems as they relate to the immediate 50% reduction target called for in the 2030 Challenge.
Architecture 2030
"A non-profit, non-partisan and independent organization, that was established in response to the global-warming crisis by architect Edward Mazria in 2002. 2030’s mission is to rapidly transform the US and global Building Sector from the major contributor of greenhouse gas emissions to a central part of the solution to the global-warming crisis." (website)
more...less...
[Their] goal is straightforward: to achieve a dramatic reduction in the global-warming-causing greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions of the Building Sector by changing the way buildings and developments are planned, designed and constructed." (website)
Design Workshop: Landscape Architecture, Urban Design, Land Planning, Tourism Planning
Profiles of their projects, in which they "integrate the beauty of natural landscapes with economic and social conditions to achieve sustainable futures."
Earthship Biotecture: Sustainable, Independent Buildings & Systems
"Earthship Biotecture is a global company offering proven, totally sustainable design and construction services worldwide. Earth - Ship n. 1. a passive solar home made out of natural and recycled materials. 2. a home combining passive solar architecture with thermal mass construction. 3. renewable energy and integrated water systems make the Earthship an off-grid home with no utility bills." Articles and lots of information on earthships, as well as earthship houses to buy or rent, and other market related material.
Energy Design Resources
EDR offers a valuable palette of energy design tools and resources that help make it easier for architects, engineers, lighting designers, and developers to design and build energy-efficient commercial and industrial buildings in California.
Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy Network
Information on EREN and links to energy and other information resources.
Energy Systems Research Unit
Extensive publications list, description of projects, products, and courses. ESRU "focuses on the development of simulation based design tools for predicting the energy/environmental performance of demand side systems such as buildings; heating, cooling and power plant; and the technologies to harness renewable sources such as solar and wind energy."
Building Energy Codes Program
US Department of Energy. Includes software and manuals that can be downloaded at no cost.
Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems ISE
The Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems ISE conducts research on the technology needed to supply energy efficiently and on an environmentally sound basis in industrialised, threshold and developing countries. To this purpose, the Institute develops systems, components, materials and processes in the areas of the thermal use of solar energy, solar building, solar cells, electrical power supplies, chemical energy conversion, energy storage and the rational use of energy.
U.S. Green Building Council
Green Home Building
Includes a "range of information related to sustainable architecture and natural building" including code information.
Green Roofs for Healthy Cities
Publishes the journal title: Living Architecture Monitor – which "reflects our enhanced commitment to educate, inspire and celebrate this emerging restorative, sustainable vision of architecture and landscape design that extends beyond green roofs".
USGBC: LEED
The U.S. Green Building Council's how-to page on obtaining LEED certification
National Renewable Energy Laboratory
Under "Research in progress" you find the NREL publications database and information about the various divisions including the Photovoltaic Division and the Buildings and Energy Systems Division. Under Information Sources/ NREL Information Systems find the solar radiation data and maps, wind energy resources maps, and more.
Natural Building Resources
Information on straw-bale construction, cob, adobe, bamboo and other techniques; extensive links.
Renewable Energy Policy Project
"An initiative to capture the manufacturing benefits of renewable energy. They have several detailed reports of the economic benefits found in renewable energy for over 20 states. They also offer additional information about technologies and projects currently underway."
Rocky Mountain Institute
One of the leaders in renewable energy and efficiency research. This Colorado-based think-tank provides research reports, policy proposals, and interactive educational opportunities for all levels of research. Headed by world-renowned efficiency and energy expert, Amory Lovins, this website is a must-see for anyone curious about the possibilities of energy and resource sustainability.
Dennis R. Holloway: Solar Architecture
Site of architect Dennis R. Holloway, with solar architecture projects, links, and "A Simple Design Methodology for Passive Solar Architecture."
Arizona Solar Center
Explores various technologies, including photovoltaics, solar cooking, solar water heating, solar architecture, wind power, and hands-on activities for the classroom.
SunAngle
Helpful calculator that will determine solar angles and related information for a given location, date, and time. Help buttons will give very good explanations and diagrams of the various readings.