If you know the specific article to find, a good starting point is the Journals A-Z List. Search for the title of your journal and if there's full text you can either search for a specific article or browse issues.
When you're looking for articles on a specific topic, you're better off using a subject database like ABI/Inform to search for a topic. Once you have a list of articles you can view the full-text if it's available. If there isn't full-text available in the database you've searched, click on the Get it @ ISU button to see if there's electronic access to your article. If there is, you can go directly to the article. If the article isn't available there will be links to the ISU library catalog and Interlibrary Loan.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. It is designed very similar to the main Google search, but the results are limited to just scholarly resources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. One of the key features is that it will show how many times a piece has been cited by other scholarly literature within Google Scholar.
Typical Results look like this: Gschneidner Metallurgy or Wells Psychological Uncertainty or Cravens American Culture. Notice that the social sciences and humanities search results contain more information on books, book chapters, and other types of non-journal resources. Google Scholar is also ideal for interdisciplinary areas - such as in this search for papers by Wallace Huffman, ISU Economist, dealing with agricultural economics: Huffman Human Capital.
Google Scholar is not comprehensive, but it is a great resource for locating cited reference information. The downside is that it can be almost impossible to figure out what Google Scholar will or will not cover. In general, it tends to cover free web resources as well as journal articles from a wide range of publishers. It also tends to primarily cover materials published in recent years; however, some publishers have also submitted information on older articles.
To export results, use Scholar Preferences to export 1 record at a time.
To export multiple records mark the ones you like. (Note that you will need to sign in using a gmail account to save items to My Library.) When you are ready to export, click on My Library, check the box(es) to indicate which one(s) you want to export then click on the Export icon above the list of references.
The library's collections and services are available to all ISU students, faculty, and staff and Parks Library is open to the public.
