Skip to Main Content
Research & Course Guides Home
Research & Course Guides Home




Podcasting: A How to Guide

This guide is meant to help users get started with podcasting.

Bibliography of Sources and Resources

Podcasting 101 Resources

Bibliography
101 Beginners Guide to Podcasting | How to Start a Podcast, 2023. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bc9VzHY28Jc.
Dennis. “What Is a Podcast? A Simple Explanation.” Castos, October 13, 2021. https://castos.com/what-is-a-podcast/.
Euritt, Alyn. Podcasting as an Intimate Medium. Routledge Studies in New Media and Cyberculture. London ; Routledge, 2023.
Green, Corey Marie. The Podcaster’s Audio Handbook: A Technical Guide for Creative People. Place of publication not identified: Apress Media, 2021. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-1-4842-7361-6.
Hines, Tobi. “LibGuides: Podcasting: Edit Audio.” Accessed June 27, 2024. https://guides.library.cornell.edu/podcast/edit.
Hooper, David. Big Podcast: How to Grow Your Podcast Audience, Build Listener Loyalty, and Get Everybody Talking about Your Show. Nashville, TN: Big Podcast, 2019.
Intuit Mailchimp. “What Is a Podcast and Why Are They So Popular?” Mailchimp. Accessed July 1, 2024. https://mailchimp.com/resources/what-is-a-podcast/.
Larson, Daniel. Podcasting for Beginners Value Edition: How to Start and Get Your First Thousand Downloads, Featuring Podcasting Made Simple + Podcast Marketing. Independently published, 2021.
Larson, Daniel, and Jake Fielding. Podcasting Made Simple: The Step by Step Guide on How to Start a Successful Podcast from the Ground Up. Independently published, 2020.
Lindgren, Mia. The Routledge Companion to Radio and Podcast Studies. Routledge Media and Cultural Studies Companions. London, England ; Taylor & Francis, 2022.
McHugh, Siobhán. The Power of Podcasting: Telling Stories through Sound. New York, NY: Columbia University Press, 2022.
Morris, Tee. Podcasting For Dummies. Fourth edition. For Dummies. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, Inc., 2021.
Scriven, Richard. “Making a Podcast: Reflecting on Creating a Place‐based Podcast.” Area (London 1969) 54, no. 2 (2022): 260–67. https://doi.org/10.1111/area.12776.
Spinelli, Martin. Podcasting: The Audio Media Revolution. London: Bloomsbury Academic, 2019.

Components of a Podcast

Bibliography
Dennis. “Engaging Podcast Content: 13 Tips to Create Better Content.” Castos, January 1, 2019. https://castos.com/engaging-podcast-content/.
———. “How to Get Podcast Sponsors That Your Audience Won’t Hate.” Castos, December 4, 2018. https://castos.com/how-to-get-podcast-sponsors/.
Dunn, Katie. “How to Structure a Podcast in 5 Steps | Ausha Blog.” Ausha, February 27, 2023. https://www.ausha.co/blog/how-to-structure-podcast/.
Emma. “Podcast Outro: 10 Tips on How to Perfectly End Your Podcast.” Ausha, April 30, 2024. https://www.ausha.co/blog/10-tips-great-podcast-outro/.
Forero-Arnías, Kimberly. “LibGuides: Podcast Guide: Organizing Your Thoughts.” Accessed July 2, 2024. https://researchguides.library.tufts.edu/c.php?g=1325460&p=9755803.
Forster, Louise. “What to Say in Your Podcast Intro (Examples & Templates).” Amplify by MatchMaker.fm, February 17, 2022. https://amplify.matchmaker.fm/podcast-intro/.
Gaffin Creative. “Parts of a Podcast | Six Structural Components of a Podcast Episode.” Gaffin Creative (blog), June 3, 2021. https://gaffincreative.com/six-structural-components-of-a-podcast-episode/.
Hadad, Ortal. “Podcast Structure: How to Easily Create One + Templates to Try.” Accessed May 24, 2024. https://riverside.fm/blog/podcast-structure.
Sudduth, Nora. “How to Structure a Podcast for Higher Listener Retention [Key Steps].” Hello Audio (blog), June 14, 2024. https://helloaudio.fm/podcast-structure/.

Podcast Design

Bibliography
Corbett, Rachel. “What Are the Different Types of Podcast?” Rachel Corbett, April 24, 2022. https://rachelcorbett.com.au/blog/podcast-types/.
Knapp, Steph. “7 Best Podcast Formats: Pros & Cons (+ Successful Examples).” ConvertKit. Accessed July 3, 2024. https://convertkit.com/resources/blog/podcast-formats.
Santo, Alexander. “8 Types of Podcasts: The Complete Guide to Audio Content Marketing.” brafton, October 11, 2023. https://www.brafton.com/blog/video-marketing/types-of-podcasts/.

Podcast Content

Bibliography
Blubrry Podcasting. “Goals, Content and Format.” Accessed July 15, 2024. https://blubrry.com/manual/goals-content-and-format/.
Brooke, Alban. “How to Write a Podcast Script [8 Free Script Templates].” Accessed July 15, 2024. https://www.buzzsprout.com/blog/write-podcast-script-examples.
Dennis. “Engaging Podcast Content: 13 Tips to Create Better Content | Castos.” Accessed July 15, 2024. https://castos.com/engaging-podcast-content/.
Hooper, David. 101 Podcast Episode Templates – Powerful, Done-for-You Episode Templates to Grow Your Podcast Audience. Big Podcast, 2022.
Lower Street. “How to Write a Podcast Script [Examples] in 2024|.” Accessed July 15, 2024. https://lowerstreet.co/how-to/write-podcast-script.
———. “Podcast Best Practices [2024]: Here’s What You Need to Know.” Accessed July 15, 2024. https://lowerstreet.co/blog/podcast-best-practices.
McCoy, Julia. “Podcasts: A Content Guide for Beginners.” Accessed July 15, 2024. https://searchengineland.com/podcasts-a-content-guide-for-beginners-392881.
O’Byrne, Ian. “Getting Started with Podcasts: Identifying Your Purpose, Audience, and Format | Dr. Ian O’Byrne.” Accessed July 15, 2024. https://wiobyrne.com/getting-started-with-podcasts-identifying-your-purpose-audience-and-format/.
Podcastle Team. “The Future of Podcasting with Artificial Intelligence.” Accessed July 15, 2024. https://podcastle.ai/blog/ai-in-podcasting/.
Smith, Robert. “You Asked: How Do You Tell a Story in 3 Acts?” NPR Training + Diverse Sources Database, November 10, 2017. https://training.npr.org/2017/11/10/you-asked-how-do-you-tell-a-story-in-3-acts/.
Yadav, Gaurav. “The Ultimate Guide to Creating a Podcast Content Strategy.” Accessed July 15, 2024. https://www.adorilabs.com/blog/how-to-create-a-podcast-content-strategy-for-2023.

Tools and Tutorials

Bibliography
Carson, Jonathan. “Everything You Need to Start a Podcast for Under $250.” Medium, March 15, 2024. https://jonathancarson.medium.com/everything-you-need-to-start-a-podcast-for-under-250-a6bef31c0fcf.
Corfield, Chris. “Best Podcasting Microphones 2024: Our Expert Picks for Every Budget and Level.” MusicRadar, November 4, 2022. https://www.musicradar.com/news/best-podcasting-microphones.
Cote, Alexandra. “14+ Essential Audio Recording Tips to Be Mindful Of.” Krisp, April 22, 2021. https://krisp.ai/blog/audio-recording-tips/.
Gray, Matthew McLean, Sean Errey, Colin. “Best Podcast Equipment & Setup for 2024.” The Podcast Host, January 2, 2024. https://www.thepodcasthost.com/equipment/podcast-equipment-guide/.

Media Tips and Best Practices

Bibliography
Abdous, M’hammed, Betty Rose Facer, and Cherng-Jyh Yen. “Academic Effectiveness of Podcasting: A Comparative Study of Integrated versus Supplemental Use of Podcasting in Second Language Classes.” Computers & Education 58, no. 1 (January 1, 2012): 43–52. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.compedu.2011.08.021.
Adams, Kimberly, Ulrich Baer, Olivia Leigh Branscum, Saronik Bosu, Daniel Dissinger, Annie Galvin, Beth Kramer, et al. “It’s Time for Academe to Take Podcasting Seriously.” Inside Higher Ed. Accessed July 23, 2024. https://www.insidehighered.com/advice/2021/09/28/how-harness-podcasting-teaching-and-scholarship-opinion.
Aenlle, Jacqueline, Jamie Loizzo, Lisa K Lundy, J. C. Bunch, and Kevin M Folta. “Podcasts in Production: An Examination of Current and Best Practices for Agricultural and Natural Resource Podcast Producers.” Journal of Applied Communications 106, no. 4 (January 6, 2023). https://doi.org/10.4148/1051-0834.2461.
Apple. “Podcast RSS Feed Requirements - Apple Podcasts for Creators.” Accessed June 25, 2024. https://podcasters.apple.com/support/823-podcast-requirements.
Berk, Justin, Matthew Watto, and Paul Williams. “Twelve Tips for Creating a Medical Education Podcast.” Medical Teacher 42, no. 11 (November 2020): 1221–27. https://doi.org/10.1080/0142159X.2020.1779205.
Bottomley, Andrew J. “Podcasting: A Decade in the Life of a ‘New’ Audio Medium: Introduction.” Journal of Radio & Audio Media 22, no. 2 (July 3, 2015): 164–69. https://doi.org/10.1080/19376529.2015.1082880.
Breitman, Kendall. “How to Start a Podcast | Complete Step-by-Step Guide for 2024.” Accessed June 26, 2024. https://riverside.fm/blog/how-to-start-a-podcast.
———. “Podcasts for Content Marketing: Full Step-by-Step Guide.” Accessed July 15, 2024. https://riverside.fm/blog/podcast-content-marketing.
Corbett, Rachel. “What Are the Different Types of Podcast?” Rachel Corbett, April 24, 2022. https://rachelcorbett.com.au/blog/podcast-types/.
Cue Podcasting. “The What, Why, & How of Podcasting in Higher Education.” Accessed July 23, 2024. https://www.cuepodcasts.com/post/podcasting-in-higher-education.
DeMarco, Carla. “Hear Here! The Case for Podcasting in Research.” Journal of Research Administration 53, no. 1 (2022): 30–61.
Drew, Christopher. “Edutaining Audio: An Exploration of Education Podcast Design Possibilities.” Educational Media International 54, no. 1 (January 2, 2017): 48–62. https://doi.org/10.1080/09523987.2017.1324360.
Fairness and Accuracy in reporting. “CounterSpin.” FAIR. Accessed July 8, 2024. https://fair.org/counterspin/.
Fernandez, Vicenc, Pep Simo, and Jose M. Sallan. “Podcasting: A New Technological Tool to Facilitate Good Practice in Higher Education.” Computers & Education 53, no. 2 (September 1, 2009): 385–92. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.compedu.2009.02.014.
Hicks, Justin, Laura Winnick, and Michael Gonchar. “Project Audio: Teaching Students How to Produce Their Own Podcasts.” The New York Times, April 19, 2018, sec. The Learning Network. https://www.nytimes.com/2018/04/19/learning/lesson-plans/project-audio-teaching-students-how-to-produce-their-own-podcasts.html.
Lower Street. “Podcast Best Practices [2024]: Here’s What You Need to Know.” Lower Street. Accessed June 25, 2024. https://lowerstreet.co/blog/podcast-best-practices.
MacAdam, Alison. “The Journey from Print to Radio Storytelling: A Guide for Navigating a New Landscape.” NPR Training + Diverse Sources Database, December 6, 2017. https://training.npr.org/2017/12/06/the-journey-from-print-to-radio-storytelling-a-guide-for-navigating-a-new-landscape/.
Mooney, Julie A. “Podcasting as Faculty Development Medium and Method: The Story of a Podcast Series Showcasing Teaching Excellence in Higher Education” 12, no. 2 (2019).
Nelson, Robert J. “Podcasting Services in Academic Libraries: A Case Study.” College & Undergraduate Libraries 27, no. 2–4 (November 10, 2021): 117–32. https://doi.org/10.1080/10691316.2021.1897722.
Niemeyer, Liam. “Universities Are Becoming Incubators For Future Podcasters.” Medium, November 16, 2018. https://bellocollective.com/universities-are-becoming-incubators-for-future-podcasters-4c202bf51a66.
NPR. “Teaching Podcasting: A Curriculum Guide for Educators.” NPR, January 6, 2023. https://www.npr.org/2018/11/15/662116901/teaching-podcasting-a-curriculum-guide-for-educators.
Oslawski-Lopez, Jamie, and Gregory Kordsmeier. “‘Being Able to Listen Makes Me Feel More Engaged’: Best Practices for Using Podcasts as Readings.” Teaching Sociology 49, no. 4 (October 1, 2021): 335–47. https://doi.org/10.1177/0092055X211017197.
Smith, Robert. “You Asked: How Do You Tell a Story in 3 Acts?” NPR Training + Diverse Sources Database, November 10, 2017. https://training.npr.org/2017/11/10/you-asked-how-do-you-tell-a-story-in-3-acts/.
Villano, Matt. “Building a Better Podcast : January 2008 : THE Journal.” THE Journal, 2008. http://teachnology.pbworks.com/f/Building+a+Better+Podcast+_+January+2008+_+THE+Journal.pdf.
Winn, Ross. “2021 Podcast Stats & Facts (New Research From Apr 2021),” July 6, 2017. https://www.podcastinsights.com/podcast-statistics/.
Yowler, Rebecca, and Abolitionist Media Literacy team, Knox College. “Research Guides: Toward an Abolitionist Model of Media Literacy: Media Production Tips and Best Practices.” Accessed May 24, 2024. https://library.knox.edu/c.php?g=1283309&p=9420124.

The library's collections and services are available to all ISU students, faculty, and staff and Parks Library is open to the public.