Library Guides: ECON 3340: Entrepreneurship in Agriculture: Market Segments and Demographics

Market Segments

The ISU Library has a number of New Stategist publications on different market segments. Enter "New Strategist" in the search box below to get a list. Items are available in Parks Library.

Mergent Intellect

Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Mergent Intellect provides access to a comprehensive suite of business information that includes US and global business directories, D&B First Research Industry Reports, Nielsen PRIZM demographics, a job search database, and executive contact information.

In the Mergent Intellect suite, the Nielsen PRIZM demographics provide demographic information by geographic area, e.g. how many 20-25 year olds live in the Des Moines metro area? Nielsen's PRIZM segmentation of households is particularly useful for marketing research.

For company market research, the D&B First Research Industry Reports have detailed information about companies and how they fit into their industry.

Iowa Specific Links

IA Source Link
This site has everything you need to know about starting and running a business in Iowa.
Iowa Small Business Development Center
Iowa Small Business Development Centers (SBDC) provide free, confidential, customized business advice in all 99 Iowa counties to businesses with 500 employees or less.
Iowa Economic Development Authority
This is the umbrella organization for economic development activities in Iowa
Iowa Community Indicators Program
ICIP provides data and research on local demographic, social, and economic trends in Iowa.
Iowa State Data Center
This office collects and disseminates census data in Iowa.
Iowa Department of Education
Iowa Department of Natural Resources (DNR)
Iowa Department of Transportation
Iowa Tourism Office

Quick Search - ISU Library

Census and BLS

The links below are from either the Bureau of Labor Statistics or the Census Bureau.

U.S. Census Bureau This link opens in a new window
The Census Bureau is the principal agency in the U.S. responsible for collecting and producing data about the American people and the economy.

Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
Statistics found here include employment and unemployment rates, and consumer price index, wholesaler price index and producer price index, consumer expenditure, labor productivity and much more.
American Time and Use Survey
The American Time Use Survey provides information about "the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing."
Consumer Expenditure Survey
The Consumer Expenditure Survey provides data about the buying habits of American consumers. It is the only Federal survey that provides information on the complete range of consumers' expenditures and incomes, and the characteristics of those consumers.
Explore Census Data
Data.census.gov is the platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau. The vision for data dissemination through data.census.gov is to improve the customer experience by making data available from one centralized place so that data users spend less time searching for data content and more time using it. For guidance on using data.census.gov, please see our Resources page at https://www.census.gov/data/adrm/what-is-data-census-gov.html.
Current Industrial Reports
Production and shipment reports for manufacturing industries. Not all industries are included and some information is only available as annual data.
more...less...
U.S. Census Bureau
Data Access Tools
Links to statistical tools and downloads that can be used to analyze census data.
more...less...
U.S. Census Bureau
Economic Census: Historical Data
From the U.S. Census Bureau. Released every five years, these reports provide a glimpse of industrial activity.
E-Commerce Statistics
The U.S. Census Bureau site devoted to measuring the electronic economy.
International Data Base (IDB)
U.S. Census Bureau. International Data Base includes demographic information, country rankings and populations information for countries worldwide.
Statistical Abstract Series
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
FedStats
Provides statistical data from over 100 government agencies. Access is available by agency or by topic.

Government: Commerce

The Commerce Department provides several options for searching business and economic data.

Bureau of Economics Analysis
Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) promotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing the timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data.
Department of Commerce
This is a link to the main page.

National Technical Reports Library This link opens in a new window
The NTRL provides access to information on over 2 million technical reports from U.S. government sponsored research in a wide variety of subject areas. Coverage is from 1964 to the present.

STAT-USA
STAT-USA is made up of three main components: GLOBUS (Global Business Opportunities)and NTDB (National Trade Data Bank) [international trade statistics and market reports] and State of the Nation, that provides US Economic data.

Other Sites

Population Reference Bureau
National and international population, health and environmental information.
Internet Crossroads in Social Science Data
Maintained by the Data & Information Services Center at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Contains over 825 annotated links to data-related resources on the Internet.

Your Librarian

Jeffrey Kushkowski

he, him, his

Email Me

Contact:

Professor
Innovation and Entrepreneurship,
Business and Economics Librarian
150 Parks Library

515 294-2408

Subjects: Business, Economics, Faculty Resources, Innovation & Entrepreneurship, Research & Publication, Teaching & Classroom Support