Library Guides: ENGL 3120: Communicating Science & Public Engagement: Practice: Searching for Articles

General Purpose Database

Academic Search Ultimate
This database covers almost all subject areas and is especially good at interdisciplinary areas. Good place to start for class assignments. It contains full text articles for more than 6,500 journals.

BioOne Complete
Full-text database of more than 200 journals in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. All articles include full-text.
Fish, Fisheries & Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide
Covers all aspects of ichthyology, fisheries, aquaculture and aquatic biology back to the 1970s.
PubMed
PubMed provides over 22 million citations for biomedical and life sciences literature, including: biomedicine and health, behavioral sciences, bioengineering, biochemistry, genetics, molecular and cell biology.
PubMed tutorial
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide
The world’s largest index of literature on wildlife including mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. Major topic areas include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, ecotourism, zoology, taxonomy and more.

Scopus
A large database containing scholarly journal articles and conference papers on any topic in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Includes cited references and h-index information.
Scopus tutorial
Web of Science Core Collection
Web of Science Core is a database of “core publications” across all disciplines. This database has a cited reference search tool that can be used for searching for a specific item from a citation.