Library Guides: Economics Research Methods: Data Sources, Part 2

Additional Resources

Inforum
This is the home page for the EconData service of Inforum, at the University of Maryland. Several thousand economic time series, produced by a number of U.S. Government agencies and distributed in a variety of formats and media, can be found here.

Economics and FInance Data

AMECO Annual Macro-Economic Database
Contains economic data for EU member states, EU candidate countries and other OECD countries (United States, Japan, Canada, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland, Mexico, Korea, Australia and New Zealand).
CBOE Volatility Index® (VIX®)
Current and historical data for the VIX, a barometer for measuring investor sentiment and market volatility.
EconData
Contains several thousand economic time series, produced by a number of U.S. Government agencies and distributed in a variety of formats and media
Eurostat, the Statistical Office of the European Union
FDIC Data & Statistics
Access structural and aggregated financial information & quarterly reports on FDIC-insured institutions
Home Mortgage Disclosure Act (HMDA) data
Provides information regarding home mortgage lending activity.
International Monetary Fund (IMF) Data
Data on IMF lending, exchange rates, trade statistics and other economic and financial indicators.
National Association of Home Builders (NAHB) Housing Data
In-depth economic analyses of the home building industry based on private and government data
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)
Contains useful economic datasets for download
Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) Statistics
Stats for OECD countries and selected non-member economies.
recovery.gov
Information on how Recovery funds are/were spent by recipients of contracts, grants, and loans, and the distribution of Recovery entitlements and tax benefits under the Recovery Act.
Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP)
Contains data on factors such as poverty, income, employment, and health insurance coverage
The Foreign Assistance Dashboard
USAID data--Explains where U.S. foreign aid is invested in over 100 countries.
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis
Interactive national, international, regional economic data or industry statistics.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Data
Databases, Tables & Calculators by Subject for US labor statistics.
U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission
Futures and options markets data
U.S. Overseas Loans and Grants (Greenbook)
Provides a complete historical record of all foreign assistance provided by the United States to the rest of the world.
World Investment Report (UNCTAD)
World Investment Report (annual) covers trends and analysis in foreign direct investment
globalEDGE DIBS
A Database of International Business Statistics with over 5000 variables from over 200 countries. Data available from mid-1990s to present. (Free registration is required to access data sets).

Labor Statistics

International Labour Organization
International labor statistics, standards, key indicators of the labor market, labor force surveys, safety, work conditions, child labor, and labor legislation.
UNCTAD Stat
Information on international trade and economic development trends, markets, and labor force.
United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE)
Provides international labor force and wage information and other economic statistics (1990-present).
OECD Employment database
Contains international policies and data on employment, health, families and children, pension systems, international migration and other social policies and data. Downloadable files in Excel, CSV, PC-axis, or XML.
ICTWSS Database
Database covers four key elements of modern political economies in advanced capitalist societies: Institutional Characteristics of Trade Unions, Wage Setting, State Intervention and Social Pacts in 49 countries between1960 and 2010
Social protection systems (MISSOC)
Provides detailed, comparative tables for social protection systems for 31 countries. Areas covered include financing, healthcare, sickness, maternity, invalidity, old-age, survivors, employment injuries and occupational diseases, family, unemployment, guaranteed minimum resources and long-term care.
Social Security Online
Highlights the principal features of social security programs in more than 170 countries. Public use data downloadable as TXT or SAS zip files.
AFRO Barometer (International)

Health Statistics

CDC National Survey Collections
Public health statistics
CDC WONDER
WONDER online databases utilize a rich ad-hoc query system for the analysis of public health data. Reports and other query systems are also available.
Data.gov - Heatlh
Datasets, tools, and applications gathered from agencies across the Federal government
Global Health Observatory (GHO)
A centralized and comprehensive source of information and analyses on global health R&D activities for human disease.
HIV/AIDS Database
Data from 219 countries and areas on the prevalence of HIV infection and AIDS cases and deaths.
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
Contains current data from surveys such as the National Health Interview Survey (NHIS), the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES), birth and mortality detail files, National Immunization Survey, Longitudinal Study of Aging, and National Survey of Family Growth (NSFG)
NIH Data Sharing Repositories
NIH-supported data repositories that make data accessible for reuse
Patient Characteristics Survey (NY Office of Mental Health)
The PCS is conducted every two years, and collects demographic, clinical, and service-related information for each person who receives a public mental health service during a specified one-week period.
U.S. Small-area Life Expectancy Estimates Project (USALEEP)
Estimates of life expectancy at birth—the average number of years a person can expect to live—for most of the census tracts in the United States for the period 2010-2015.