Plenty! But with a library the size of Parks, it can be hard to know where to even start... so here are some ideas of what you might look for.
You'll find plenty of high quality, vetted reference books at the library. These will help you find equations, diagrams, and other useful information for supporting your projects. We even have books that will show you how to use Google and other free search tools like an expert. Try searching for your topic and handbook or manual in Quick Search, or use a broad handbook like the ones below.
The library also has lots of books and other resources to help you create better papers, reports, and presentations. Search for technical writing in Quick Search.
The library subscribes to powerful engineering-focused search tools, which automatically sift out the stuff that isn't related to engineering and include features designed to make engineering research easier. We pay lots of money for access so you don't have to.
Compendex is a highly comprehensive engineering database with over 14 million records from journals, conference proceedings and technical papers in all engineering disciplines. Coverage dates from 1884 to the present.
Journals and conference proceedings from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. ISU’s subscription includes all journals and post-2008 conference proceedings, but does NOT include ebooks or pre-2008 proceedings.
Handbooks and other reference books covering all engineering disciplines. Includes interactive equations, extensive materials property data, and a limited number of standards.
You'll also find lots of guides to finding materials on different subjects or in different formats on the Library website. You'll probably even find some created specifically for classes you're taking! Below are a few that may be of interest.
The library's collections and services are available to all ISU students, faculty, and staff and Parks Library is open to the public.
