US Latino/a Studies Research Guide

Great ideas & resources for library materials, programming, and outreach to Spanish-speaking Latinx populations.

Well-organized website provides information about this major Puerto Rican research institute at Hunter College / CUNY. Includes contents listing for Centro Journal, the major US research journal in Puerto Rican studies; a publications catalog; information about the Centro library and archival collections, and research information.

Excellent leadership and career development institute for high school-college age Latinx students. Includes information on scholarships, internships, and more.

From Florida International University. Information about their academic program, Cuban and Cuban American research projects, news, and events.

Website from this research institute at CUNY describes its programs, publications, activities, and contact information. In English and Spanish.

Important organization promoting access to and success in higher education for Hispanic/Latino students nationwide. Ample information on member organizations, Hispanic-serving Institutions (HSIs), strategies, conferences, and more.

This excellent website links 25 academic research institutes that participate in IUPLR and focus on Latinx research issues. Includes descriptions of the organization and its institutional members; current research projects, publications, select bibliographies, and an excellent collection of Latinx links focusing on policy and research organizations.

This governor-appointed state agency was charged with improving "...the quality of life of all Iowans by increasing statewide understanding of the social, cultural and economic contributions Latinos make in Iowa." Provided useful information for and about the growing Latinx population in the state. Now the link leads to Health and Human Services. Perhaps some content there may be relevant.

Website of this well-known research and policy institute at Michigan State University makes available many full-text papers and research notes, with a strong focus on midwestern Latinx issues. It also culls together recent Latino-related news articles from elsewhere on the web, and maintains a collection of diverse Latinx and Latin American web links.

A relic of the earliest days of the web, still up and running but likely content not rigorously maintained. Still an interesting example of US Latinx & Latin American links from the University of Texas, Austin.

From NPR, in-depth reporting on a wide range of topics from a Latinx perspective.

From UC Berkeley, formerly known as the Center for Latino Policy Research

The website of this well-known organization functions as a clearinghouse to their policy briefs, and includes useful information such as a Congressional scorecard (detailing Senate and House votes by state and name), sections on immigration, Puerto Rico and the statehood question, voter rights, briefs on upcoming legislation relevant to Latinx populations, and more.

Well-known organization dedicated to education and legal rights of Mexican Americans and Latinx populations.

Excellent and indispensable source of current and reliable demographic research on a wide range of Latinx identity issues and topics impacting Latinx in the US.

Multimedia collection of oral histories, video clips, scholarly lectures, and chronologies detailing 20th century Puerto Rican history and experiences of the Puerto Rican diaspora in the United States.

English / Spanish online encyclopedia covers important information about Puerto Rico and Puerto Ricans. Main topics include arts, economy, education, popular culture, religion, festivals, the Puerto Rican diaspora, and much more. Includes multimedia (audio, videos, photos), and search feature. Spanish language version also available: http://www.enciclopediapr.org/esp/ . From the Fundación Puertorriqueña de las Humanidades.

National organization promoting library outreach, materials, and Latinx programming. Strong emphasis on public and school libraries.

From Iowa State University, this helpful website presents current census data and information about the state of Iowa, counties in Iowa, and incorporated places. It features selected demographic trends across the state and by specific place. You can easily search the RECAP website for Latinx demographics. Broad data from other midwestern states are also included.

Major museum and cultural site with information on exhibits, art, artists, cultural events, celebrations, and more. Includes virtual museum with virtual exhibit activities and multimedia.

Website of this well-known institute makes available current statistics, full-text reports, current research topics, and briefings on diverse topics, such as Latinx Internet use; college admissions and affirmative action; language issues; Latinx media issues; and presidential politics and voter turnout. Many publications are also available for purchase.

Formerly known as National Council of La Raza (NCLR); Well-organized Web site from this policy-focused organization provides extensive annotated lists of publications for sale, news briefs on issues such as health, education, immigration, and policy, and links.

Research guide from Grand Valley State University's Special Collections and Archives detailing their collections of over 100 oral history interviews, plus photos & additional resources. Includes an interactive map showing important neighborhood sites in Chicago.

Historic Puerto Rican newspapers from the Chicago-area branch of the radical Young Lords Organization; circa 1970s. Full-text online, in Spanish & English.