Skip to main content

Standards & Specifications: A How-To Guide

Guide to searching for, and locating full-text of, industry standards.

Locating ASME standards at ISU

Current ASME standards are provided in read-only online format to ISU researchers via ASME Digital Collection. The library's subscription does not include the Boiler & Pressure Vessel Code (BPVC).

How to access ASME standards

  1. Go to ASME Digital Collection (linked above; you will be prompted to log in with your ISU credentials)
  2. Click the "Standards" tab
  3. Locate the "Click here to access via institutional account" link at top right
  4. Click the link and you will be logged in
  5. From the dashboard you can browse all 600+ standards or search for the one you want

Note that the search interface allows you to choose whether you are searching for a standard by its number or designation, or if you are searching in the text of the title or standard for keywords.

Boiler & Pressure Vessel Code

The ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code is the largest set of ASME standards owned by the ISU Library. Due to cost constraints we are unable to subscribe to the BPVC at this time, so updates to our copy are sporadic. The most recent edition in our collection can be found in the Standards Center (Rm 161). Historical versions may be found in the general collection or elsewhere in the library. Check the link below for details on where to find the edition you're looking for.

Older editions of standards

The library also owns hard copies of many individual ASME standards published prior to 2020. These can be found in ISU’s ANSI standards collection, located in Room 161. A searchable index of ASME standards is available at the ASME website. Once a standard of interest has been identified, check Quick Search or the ASME Digital Collection for access.

Erin Thomas's picture
Erin Thomas
Contact:
150 Parks Library
Iowa State University
515 294-9886