Library Guides: HIST 4950: Historiography and Research Writing: Find Articles

Find Articles in Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This database covers almost all subject areas and is especially good at interdisciplinary areas. Good place to start for class assignments. It contains full text articles for more than 6,500 journals.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from publications going back to 1910.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences. It includes digitized current and back issues of academic journals, books and primary source materials.

Looking for something more specific? Check out the History Research Guide for additional resources:

History Research Guide
by Becca Yowler Last Updated Nov 14, 2024 60 views this year

Google Scholar: Also an option!

While I wouldn't recommend Google Scholar for finding primary sources, it can be a great place to look for secondary sources (journal articles, book chapters, presentations, and more) if you aren't certain where to start.

Google Scholar
Enables you to search Google specifically for scholarly literature. Fast and easy resource, but remember that it is not comprehensive and may not be the best choice for some disciplines.

Becca Yowler

she/they

Email Me

Subjects: Anthropology, History, World Languages & Cultures