Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 countries.
An international and multilingual agricultural research database maintained by the United Nations. AGRIS contains references to books, articles, book chapters, data sets, and gray literature.
The WHO site provides access to health areas the organization is involved with, detailed data and statistics, and information about individual countries.
Free and open access to global development data. You can search or browse by indicator name, country, and topic. Also provides easy access to the World Bank's other data products: Data Catalog, Microdata Library, and DataBank.
Search for publications produced by the World Bank. "The World Bank is the largest single source of development knowledge. The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products."
This database covers almost all subject areas and is especially good at interdisciplinary areas. Good place to start for class assignments. It contains full text articles for more than 6,500 journals.
A large database containing scholarly journal articles and conference papers on any topic in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Includes cited references and h-index information. Scopus tutorial
Web of Science Core is a database of “core publications” across all disciplines. This database has a cited reference search tool that can be used for searching for a specific item from a citation.
CAB Abstracts is one of the largest agricultural databases covering international research literature in a wide range of subjects across the applied life sciences – from agriculture, the environment, and veterinary sciences, to applied economics, leisure/tourism, and nutrition. Especially useful to find information for specific countries on these topics. CAB Abstracts tutorial
Covers the environmental effects of individuals, corporations, and governments. Indexes scholarly, government and general-interest publications on topics including global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and environmental remediation.
NSCEP provides access to online publications and reports from the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).
Includes 400 Series (Air and Radiation, OAR), 500 Series (Solid Waste and Emergency Response, OSWER), 600 Series (Research and Development, ORB), 700 Series (Prevention, Pesticides and Toxic Substances, OPPTS) and 800 Series (Water, OW) and more. The National Environmental Publications Internet Site (NEPIS) database was integrated under (NSCEP) for one stop access to all EPA publications.
The world’s largest index of literature on wildlife including mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. Major topic areas include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, ecotourism, zoology, taxonomy and more.
Full-text collection of publications from the FAO (United Nations). Provides reports on topics such as irrigation, agriculture, sustainable development, desertification, pesticides, and food insecurity.
Sociological Abstracts includes journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers in sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. FSSW is an anthology of 4 database files providing access to more than 1.3 million records. 1970 to the present.
This database covers international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. Worldwide Political Science Abstracts tutorial
Literature in psychology and related disciplines. About 90% of the articles are peer-reviewed; also includes book chapters, reports, theses and dissertations.
