Library Guides: Geology Research Guide: Basic Resources

Basic Resources

Items listed here are basic research tools useful for finding journal, magazine, and newspaper articles relevant to geology and earth sciences.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This database covers almost all subject areas and is especially good at interdisciplinary areas. Good place to start for class assignments. It contains full text articles for more than 6,500 journals.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
This is a collection of more than 12,000 newspapers and other news sources from nearly 200 countries, from 1980 to the present. It provides full-text access to several major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles. Almost 20 different languages are represented. Platform is updated daily making it good source for current events.

Access World News tutorial

Columbia Earthscape
Columbia Earthscape is an integrated, interdisciplinary resource that connects the Earth and environmental sciences with their social, political and economic dimensions.

GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
A database for research and communications in the geosciences, built on a core database of select peer-reviewed journals.

Web resources useful for finding information on recent and current geological events such as earthquakes, volcano activity,etc.

Active Fire Mapping System
From the USDA Forest Service. Updated each Friday, or as conditions warrant.
Electronic Volcano (archive)
A window into the world of information on active volcanoes. Provides access to maps, photographs and full texts of dissertations as well as a few elusive documents.
more...less...
This is an archived version of the site from March 2021 (although, the page itself says that it was last updated in 1997, although the materials it links to may have been updated in the meantime).
Landslide & Debris Flow (FEMA)
Landslide Hazards (from USGS)
National Interagency Fire Center
Links to maps, statistics, videos, podcasts, fire prevention, and educational materials.
ScienceDaily: Earth & Climate News
Volcano World: the Web's Premier Source of Volcano Info
Links on right side of page give access to sites on volcanoes and volcanic phenomena, using remote sensing images to provide near real time currency. Offers interactive experiments, interviews, and teaching resources.
WaterWatch
Site includes Google Earth, real-time streamflow, and regional streamflow data all in KML format, flood and drought watches, and recent/historical maps.
Wildfire Hazards Factsheet
From the USGS...a free downloadable PDF fact sheet.
World-Wide Earthquake Locator
Provides basic data and map displays about recent earthquakes from the (US) National Earthquake Information Center, as well as links to several related sites.

Encyclopedia of Earth This link opens in a new window
EoE is a database about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. Free, expert-reviewed collection of content contributed by scholar/professionals who collaborate and review each other's work.

Earth Statistics This link opens in a new window
A website that includes a rich array of documents (including images, movies, animations, and data sets) that explore the Earth and Space sciences and the historical and cultural ties between science, exploration, and the human experience.

Encyclopedia of Earth This link opens in a new window
EoE is a database about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. Free, expert-reviewed collection of content contributed by scholar/professionals who collaborate and review each other's work.

U*X*L Encyclopedia of Landforms and Other Geologic Features
"The physical and geological aspects, structure, and features of 48 of the earth's landforms - what they are, how they look, how they were created, how they change over time, and major geological events associated with them."--Website

He/Him

Email Me

Contact:

294-5077

Subjects: Aerospace Engineering, Computer Science, Geology, Mechanical Engineering, Meteorology, Physics & Astronomy

https://instr.iastate.libguides.com/geology