Library Guides: Nursing Research Guide: Find Books

Book, Books, and More Books

Books at ISU

Physical materials are located throughout the Parks Library. Depending on what you are studying you may need to visit several floors. The best way to find these books is to use Quick Search.

Quick Search records include a brief description and location information for books, journals, and other items owned by the Library. You will also find records for individual articles. We recommend you choose an article index to search for journal articles, rather than using Quick Search.

Search Tips

You may use Boolean operators AND, OR or NOT to link or exclude concepts. Note: AND, OR and NOT must be capitalized!
If you are searching for books, use Tweak my results on the right of your search results page and choose Books under Format Type. Alternatively, use Quick Search's Advanced Search and choose Books under the Material Type drop-down menu. (Remember you will need to get the call number of your book to find it in the Library.)
To find ebooks, follow tip 2 above and then use Tweak my results to select Full Text Online under Availability. Use your ebook's Online access link to open and read the book!

E-Book Collections

ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
A collection of popular electronic books - - includes a large number of nursing, nutrition, self-help, and general medical books.

PubMed Bookshelf
Collection of full-text biomedical books from the National Library of Medicine
Food Science ebooks in Taylor & Francis Collection

Discover More Books

Interlibrary Loan from the ISU Library - Any current ISU student, staff, faculty member or holder of the ISU Library Visitor's Card can request materials from other libraries from Interlibrary Loan.

WorldCat on FirstSearch - ISU login This link opens in a new window
A library meta-catalog; ~90% of all U.S. libraries submit their collection records to WorldCat. FirstSearch is a more nuanced and higher quality search engine than the free WorldCat.org version.