Skip to main content

Horticulture

information resources for the horticultural sciences

Horticulture Resources

The following information was supplied by Special Collections at the ISU library. If you additional questions about these resources, contact them at [EMAIL]

Seed catalogs from Special Collections:
This digital collection contains trade catalogs from Iowa seed companies, such as the Iowa Seed Company and Dorr's Iowa Seeds. Catalogs include seeds and bulbs for flowers, trees, herbs, ornamental shrubs, vegetables, grains, grasses, and fruit. In addition, the catalogs often also include gardening tools and implements.

Available online: https://www.lib.iastate.edu/spcl/LDC/seedcat/sdcat.html

This is only a small portion of the Department’s seed catalogs—to see others, please go to the Library Catalog and click on advanced search. Use seed catalog as the keyword, and limit your location to Special Collections.

Primary Resources from Special Collections:
This digital collection contains individual pages from agricultural journals, including American Agriculturalist, 1897 (S1 Am3); Country Gentleman, 1889 (S1 C832); Journal of Agriculture, 1870 (S1 J84); Wallace’s Farmer, 1896 (S1 W155); Western Farm Journal, 1879-1880(S1 Io9)

Available online: http://www.scribd.com/collections/2816890/Horticulture-Resources

Secondary Resources:

Freeman, John F. High Plains Horticulture: A History. Boulder: University Press of Colorado, 2008.
PARKS General Collection - SB319.2.H54 F74 2008

Kline, Roger A., Robert Becker, and Lynne Belluscio. The Heirloom Vegetable Garden: Gardening in the 19th Century. Ithaca, NY: Cornell University, 1981.
PARKS Special Collections - SB320.5 K685x 1981

Pauly, Philip J. Fruits and Plains: The Horticultural Transformation of America. Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University Press, 2007.
PARKS General Collection - SB319 .P38 2007

Pellett, Kent. Pioneers in Iowa Horticulture. Des Moines, Iowa State Horticultural Society, 1941.
PARKS General Collection - SB85 I6 P4
PARKS Special Collections (2 copies) - SB85 I6 P4

Additional Web Sites:

Your Librarian

Anita Kay's picture
Anita Kay
Contact:
150 Parks Library
515-294-6943