The best way to find any kind of book is through Quick Search!
Print books for the sciences are located throughout the Parks Library. Depending on what you are studying you may need to visit several floors. You can use the Call Numbers in Parks Library webpage as a quick guide.
Online books are hosted by a variety of services and can be located with Quick Search.
Distance students can have print books shipped to their home for free if >25 miles from Ames.
Print reference books for the sciences are located in Tier 2 at Parks Library. You'll find a large collection of encyclopedias and handbooks related to all areas of the life sciences. These books can be checked out for 1 week. Online reference books are hosted by a variety of services and the best way to find them is through Quick Search.
Here are a few of the reference books and databases available through the ISU Library:
Van Nostrand's Scientific EncyclopediaThe University Library subscribes to many eBook services. The best way to locate ebooks is through Quick Search but you can also browse individual collections. Below are the collections most likely to be of use to EEOB students, faculty and staff.
For more information about ebooks @ISU please visit the E-Books at Iowa State University guide.
Includes books selected by the ISU library for permanent purchase as well as books from a rotating collection. Some books have unlimited users and others may only be accessed by 1 user at a time. Click on the book title to see how many users it allows.
A collection of ebooks covering all subject areas from a wide variety of publishers. Includes books selected by the ISU library for permanent purchase as well as books from a rotating collection. Some books have unlimited users and others may only be accessed by 1 user at a time.
ProQuest Ebook Central tutorial
Electronic access to journals, books and encyclopedias published by Elsevier Science and Academic Press.
ScienceDirect tutorial
Wiley is one of the world's largest scholarly publishers. You can access ISU’s subscription journals and purchased ebooks, as well as open access publications, through the Wiley Online Library.
The library's collections and services are available to all ISU students, faculty, and staff and Parks Library is open to the public.
