Library Guides: Agricultural Statistics Research Guide: Home

Geospatial Data

Agro-MAPS: Global Spatial Database of Agricultural Land-Use Statistics
This database contains statistics on food crop production, harvested area and yields for more than 130 countries in Africa, Asia, Near East in Asia, Latin America and the Caribbean, North America and Oceania.
more...less...
"The Agro-MAPS database contains statistics aggregated by subnational administrative districts, on food crop production, harvested area and yields, for one or more years, for more than 130 countries. The data are being used, among others, in studies on land degradation, climate change, policy formulation, land-use planning and investments in sustainable agriculture. Users can interactively query the database, display search results as maps, and download data in a variety of formats."
CropScape - Cropland Data Layer (CDL)
The CDL is a raster, geo-referenced, crop-specific land cover data layer created annually for the continental United States using moderate resolution satellite imagery and extensive agricultural ground truth. All historical CDL products are available for use and free for download through CropScape. Contains data from 1997-2013.
Geospatial Data Gateway
A gateway where data on natural resources or the environment can be accessed by anyone, at any time, from anywhere.
Land Use Strata
Available for selected states.
Vegetation Condition Images
VegScape is a geospatial data service which offers automated updates of vegetative condition at daily, weekly, and biweekly intervals. VegScape delivers interactive vegetation indices that enable quantification of U.S. crop conditions for exploring, visualizing, querying, and disseminating via interactive maps.

Other Useful Resources

Agricultural Survey Methods by Roberto Benedetti (Editor); Marco Bee (Editor); Federica Piersimoni (Editor); Giuseppe Espa (Editor)
ISBN: 9780470743713
Publication Date: 2010-05-24
For individuals interested in agricultural statistics. This book discusses conducting a census, setting up frames and registers, issues arising from sample design and estimation, use of remote sensing, management of data quality and dissemination and analysis of survey data.

Science.gov
Gateway to selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies.

US Agricultural Statistics

NASS: National Agricultural Statistics Service
Provides timely, accurate, and useful statistics in service to U.S. agriculture.

National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) Publications
Publications of NASS, an agency of the United States Department of Agriculture.
Census of Agriculture
Includes AgCensus files for 2007-2017.
Iowa Agricultural Statistics
Contains county-level data as well as overall state numbers. Online data primarily available for 2005-present. Older data is available in hard copy. Parks Library Reference Collection has 1994-present at: HD1775 I8 I511. Earlier years are in the General Collection.
Ag Census (Historical)
Search engine for the historical U.S. agricultural census files covering 1840-2002.
Agricultural Productivity in the U.S.
From the USDA/ERS. Scroll down to the list of available tables - including crops, livestock, labor, land, chemicals, and state rankings.
Census of Agriculture: Charts & Maps
Provided by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, National Agricultural Statistics Service.
QuickStats
Query the Census of Agriculture database to retrieve customized tables with Census data at the national, state and county levels for 1997 to the present.
Statistics by state
Provides information on agricultural statistics for each of the fifty states and Puerto Rico.
more...less...
Quick Stats (agricultural statistics by state and county) include county estimates, agricultural overviews, Census of Agriculture for each state, and an interactive statistical map of each state.
Crop Production Annual Summaries
Covers annual USDA crop summaries, 1941-present

International Agricultural Statistics

FAOSTAT: FAO Statistical Databases
Time-series and cross sectional data relating to hunger, food and agriculture for 245 countries and territories and 35 regional areas. Data covers 1961 to the present. Provides many tools for data analysis.

North American Agricultural Statistics
A joint effort of the National Agricultural Service of the USDA, Statistics Canada, and Servicio de informacion y estadistica agroalimentaria y pesquera to situate national agriculture indicators within a North American statistical context.
World Agricultural Supply and Demand Estimates
"USDA forecasts of U.S. and world supply-use balances of major grains, soybeans and products, and cotton; and U.S. supply and use of sugar and livestock products." Includes September 1973 through March 2008.

Citation Style Manuals

Publications Handbook and Style Manual (soils)
The style manual for American Society of Agronomy (ASA), Crop Science Society of America (CSSA), and Soil Science Society of America (SSSA).

CSE Style

CSE stands for the Council of Science Editors. It is an infrequently used style, but sometimes instructors and life sciences journal editors will ask for it.

The CSE Manual, Ninth Edition by Council of Science Editors
Call Number: REF T11 S386 2024 (Parks Library - Main Desk)
Available online (by clicking on the title above) and also hard copy.

CSE Citation Style Quick Guide
One of the few guides on the new 9th edition CSE style.

Scientific Style and Format, 8th Edition by Council of Science Editors
Call Number: T11 S386 2014 (Parks Library - Tier 6)
Available online (by clicking on the title above) and also hard copy.

While CSE hasn't issued explicit guidance on citing AI, in a discussion on utilizing AI and journal submissions, the CSE editors state that AI should not be listed as an author. Like other styles, it can therefore be considered as a personal communication. Personal communications are generally included only in in-text citations, not reference lists, but a Notes section can include additional details about the communication.

Format for Citing Generative AI in CSE:

In-Text: (date type of communication)

Citation Examples:

In-Text: (2024 ChatGPT response to prompt from author)

Other Citation Styles for Science Writing

APA Overview and Workshop
An overview of APA (American Psychological Association) style provided by the Online Writing Lab at Purdue University. Gives extensive examples for materials cited in reference lists.
Citation Style Guides