Library Guides: Agricultural Statistics Research Guide: Almanacs & Historical Crop Rankings

Crop Data

Crop Rankings 1993-1997
USDA rankings of U.S. field crops, fruit, nuts, vegetables, livestock, and poultry by state and by crop; based on the 1993-1997 production for crops, fruits, nuts, and vegetables; and inventory for livestock and poultry. Includes top 100 counties for field crops.
Historical Track Record - Crop Production
Provides historic estimates (1866-2012) of acreage, yield, production, market year average price, and value; comparisons of preliminary and final planted and harvested acreage estimates; and comparisons of production forecasts versus end-of-year and final production estimates. Includes information about barley, canola, corn, cotton, flaxseed, hay, oats, peanuts, rice, rye, sorghum, soybeans, sunflower, wheat, durum, beans, potatoes, sweet potatoes, tobacco, and sugar crops.
State Rankings: Harvested Crops and Crop Production
From USDA/NASS Annual Statistical Bulletin for 2013. Data is shown for Iowa and 10 leading states.
State Rankings: Livestock, Iowa and 10 Leading States
From the USDA/NASS - this information is published annually in Iowa Agricultural Statistics. In 2018, it appears on page 44.

Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition This link opens in a new window

Useful Links

Almanacs, encyclopedias, and dictionaries are three of the best places to look for facts. Typical types of questions these resources can answer include: conversion calculators, periodic table of the chemical elements, planetary information, inventions, etc. Also good for finding things like a list of the world's tallest buildings, busiest airports, deadlist hurricanes, how to calculate wind chill, world's oldest trees and names of animal groups.Demographic data is also included in many almanacs.

Information Please Almanac
More than just an almanac, this also includes an encyclopedia, dictionary, thesaurus, atlas, and biography reference! Includes the Random House Websters College Dictionary and the Columbia Encyclopedia.
The Old Farmer's Almanac
The online version of the famous Old Farmer's Almanac. Lots of fun.
Weather Almanac
Reference guide to weather, climate, and related issues in the United States and its key cities.
Wolfram|Alpha
A very interesting site, Wolfram aims to "to build on the achievements of science and other systematizations of knowledge to provide a single source that can be relied on by everyone for definitive answers to factual queries." Broad coverage and fascinating data.