Search an Index to find articles for your topic
Indexes simply list citations of journal articles (and sometimes conference papers and other items). Use of an electronic index allows you to search hundreds of journals at one time enabling precise retrieval of articles published on a particular subject.
Most useful Indexes for Agricultural Education & Studies:
- ACSESS This link opens in a new windowThe ACSESS Digital Library is a complete collection of all content published by the American Society of Agronomy, Crop Science Society of America, and Soil Science Society of America. This collection is a work-in-progress and was released to the public during summer 2012. Publications include: journal, magazines, and some e-books.
- AGRIS This link opens in a new windowAn international and multilingual agricultural research database maintained by the United Nations. AGRIS contains references to books, articles, book chapters, data sets, and gray literature.
- CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCAB Abstracts is one of the largest agricultural databases covering international research literature in a wide range of subjects across the applied life sciences – from agriculture, the environment, and veterinary sciences, to applied economics, leisure/tourism, and nutrition. Especially useful to find information for specific countries on these topics.
Click here for tutorial - Education Full Text This link opens in a new windowProvides information on articles published in 400+ English-language periodicals and yearbooks in the field of education and related areas.
- PubAg This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles relevant to agricultural sciences. Focuses on U.S. government research but also includes research outside of government agencies.
- ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) - EBSCOhost Access This link opens in a new windowContains a mixture of journal articles, unpublished reports, and curriculum materials in all areas of education. Some documents are available full-text. The ISU Library subscribes to most of the journals indexed by ERIC, and maintains a microfiche file of all indexed reports up to August 2004.
Other relevant indexes
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowFull text access to over 1500 national and international newspapers. Exellent resource for locating information on current world events such as recent crop damage in foreign countries.
- Farm, Field and Fireside: Agricultural Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new windowA free repository of historically significant US farm weekly newspapers documenting a time of transition in American agriculture, politics, family life and technology. Covers late nineteenth to early twentieth centuries.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowA large database containing scholarly journal articles and conference papers on any topic in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Includes cited references and h-index information.
Click here for tutorial - Web of Science This link opens in a new windowThe fundamental question which can be answered quickly by Web of Science is where and by whom has a particular paper been cited. If you have 1-2 journal articles that are perfectly on your topic - you can look them up in Web of Science to see who has cited them. If another researcher has cited these papers, then these additional papers are probably also on the same (or a similar) topic. It's a great way to find related articles.
