Library Guides: Genealogy Research Guide: Surname Indexes

One-Step Searching

One-Step Webpages by Stephen P. Morse
A very nice way to search a variety of web-accessible databases. Covers passenger lists; U.S., Canadian and British census records; vital records and much more.

Useful surname indexes

American Genealogical-Biographical Index
Beginning genealogists should consult this lengthy print index first, as it provides the easiest way to begin a search of a family surname and its information is given in a convenient form.
more...less...
The ISU Library does not have any online access; however, it is available to anyone who has a subscription to Ancestry.com or the Family History Library on CD-ROM.
American Genealogist: Index to volumes 1-60
This very slim volume is a quick way to look up topics and surnames covered in volumes 1-60 of the American Genealogist magazine. The ISU Library does not own the magazine, but Ames Public Library collection has 1966-2001.
Dictionary of American Family Names
3 volume book set. Gives name meanings, geographic or cultural origins, and frequency of name occurrence in a subset of the U.S. population.
FamilySearch
The LDS Library is one of the premier genealogical collections in the world. Some of their information is free online while other parts of it will require you to visit a nearby Family History Center. Note: This site now requires you to sign up for a free account to search it.
International Genealogical Index
This index is now automatically searched as part of the FamilySearch records database. It contains millions of records of individuals who lived between 1500 and 1900, primarily in the United States, Canada, Europe, and Latin America. Ongoing efforts are made to compile genealogical data from other regions and peoples.
Iowa Genealogical Society Surname Index
NOTE: This covers all of Iowa. It is a 5 volume set published 1973-1990. The bulk of this index is a surname listing of individuals known to have lived in Iowa. For each person, it lists birth, death, marriage year, where married, name of spouse and contact information for the IGS members currently working on that specific family tree.
Passenger & Immigration Lists Index
This is a book set. These volumes contain alphabetical listings of names appearing on published 17th, 18th, and 19th century ship passenger lists and/or naturalization records. For those whose family members came to America through ports other than New York City's Ellis Island (operating for immigration from 1892-1924).
more...less...
The ISU Library does not have any online access; however, it is available to anyone who has a subscription to Ancestry.com or in libraries with larger genealogical collections.
Story County Surname Index
A database (with links) to surnames mentioned on the Story County, IAGenWeb site.

Your Librarian

Lorrie Pellack

Email Me

Contact:

Head, Research & Instruction Services Dept.
150c Parks Library
Ames, IA 50011-2140

Phone: 515-294-5569

Subjects: Criminal Justice, Environment & Sustainability, Faculty Resources, Food Science & Human Nutrition, Government Information, Nursing, Political Science, Research & Publication, Sociology