Economics Research Guide

The Wall Street Journal is available as part of the Library's subscription to ABI/INFORM. There is daily coverage of the paper from 1984 to the present. Articles in the ABI/INFORM version are text ONLY, no graphics or charts. If you need financial information from the Journal, go to the Barrons Market Data Center.

There are two ways to get access:

From Library's website

1. Go to the Library website: https://www.lib.iastate.edu/ (or Click on the ISU link on the Business Home, then click on 'Library' at the iastate.edu page).

2. Select 'Indexes & Abstracts' from the Collections pane

3. Select ABI/INFORM and enter the database (if you're off campus you'll need to sign is with your ID and PIN number).

4. At the ABI/INFORM default search screen do the following:

1. Click on the Publication tab.
2. Enter Wall Street Journal in the search box.
3. Select Wall Street Journal from the publication list (only option is the Eastern Edition).
4. You'll be directed to a page for the Wall Street Journal where you can select an issue (e.g., today's paper) or do a search.
5. If you select an individual issue, the default display is alphabetical by article title. To change this, go to the sort options menu on the right side directly above the article list, and change the sort option to sort by page number. This will approximate the print journal.
6. If you do a search for articles, you can limit your search by date and other fields to make your search more precise.

The Harvard Business Review is available as part of the Library's subscription to Ebsco Business Source Elite. HBR is available in Ebsco from 1985 to the present. Articles are available as both text and pdf files.

There are two ways to get access:

From Library's website

1. Go to the Library website: https://www.lib.iastate.edu/ (or Click on the ISU link on the Business Home, then click on 'Library' at the iastate.edu page).

2. Select 'Indexes & Abstracts' from the Collections pane

3. Select Business Source Elite and enter the database (if you're off campus you'll need to sign is with your ID and PIN number).

4. At the Business Source Elite default search screen do the following:

1. Click on the Advanced Search tab.
2. Enter Harvard Business Review in the search box and change the search field to 'SO - Source Publication.'
3. You can enter other search terms in the other boxes to search a specific topic. If you do the search now, you'll get a list of all the HBR articles, with the most recent articles first.
4. If you enter other terms with the search, you will get only results for and Harvard Business Review, again arranged with the most recent items first.
5. You can limit your search by date and other fields to make your search more precise.