Library Guides: HSPM 5050: Hospitality Management Scholarship and Applications: Statistics &amp; Data

Data Management

This "Data Management Plan" guide will help you create a formal document that outlines how you'd handle your data both during your research and after.

Statistics & Data - Sites & Tools

ILOSTAT This link opens in a new window

Google

Statistics & Data - Databases

Sage Data (formerly Data Planet) This link opens in a new window
Data Planet provides access to data sets and tools that are useful across disciplines.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
This source gives comprehensive, summarized data on the social, political, and economic issues of the U.S. Lots and lots of statistical tables!
Statistical Insight - ISU Only This link opens in a new window
Indexes statistical publications from the U.S. Federal government, U.S. state governments, and international organizations including the UN, OECD, and EU. Includes full text access for 2007 - present.
Statistical Insight tutorial
Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition This link opens in a new window
A compendium of statistics from over 1000 sources covering 1780-present. We recommend using this alongside Statistical Abstract of the U.S.

DataUSA
This an open data platform created by Deloitte, Datawheel and Prof. Cesar Hidalgo of MIT Media Lab to "inform decision making among executives, policymakers and citizens."
Iowa Newspaper Statistics
This link provides access to circulation and readership figures for almost 300 daily and weekly Iowa newspapers. You can search by city or county.

UN iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Provides a single digital destination for seamlessly accessing publications, journals, data, and series published by the United Nations Secretariat, and its funds and programs.
CIA World Factbook This link opens in a new window
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 countries.

Demographics

U.S. Census Bureau This link opens in a new window
The Census Bureau is the principal agency in the U.S. responsible for collecting and producing data about the American people and the economy.

Data.Census.Gov
This site replaced the decommissioned American FactFinder

CIA World Factbook This link opens in a new window
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 countries.

Consumer Expenditure Survey
The Consumer Expenditure Survey provides data about the buying habits of American consumers. It is the only Federal survey that provides information on the complete range of consumers' expenditures and incomes, and the characteristics of those consumers.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Statistics found here include employment and unemployment rates, and consumer price index, wholesaler price index and producer price index, consumer expenditure, labor productivity and much more.