Skip to Main Content

Special Collections and Rare Books

This guide is an introduction to Special Collections at Iowa State University.

Preferred citation format

[Collection Name, date span. Collection #]. Special Collections and University Archives, Iowa State University Library, Ames, Iowa.

EXAMPLES
Frank Abraham Papers, RS 21/7/94, Special Collections and University Archives, Iowa State University Library, Ames, Iowa.

American Society of Brewing Chemists Records, 1934-[ongoing]. MS 227. Special Collections and University Archives, Iowa State University Library, Ames, Iowa.

Clementine M. Harris Diaries, 1898-1911. MS 338. Special Collections and University Archives, Iowa State University Library, Ames, Iowa.

Pilar A. Garcia Papers, 1933-2011. RS 12/6/53. Special Collections and University Archives, Iowa State University Library, Ames, Iowa.
 

[Item, date. Box #, Folder #. Collection Name, date span. Collection #]. Special Collections and University Archives, Iowa State University Library, Ames, Iowa.

EXAMPLES
Dorothy Kehlenbeck to P. Mabel Nelson, 2 March 1960. Box 2, Folder 9. Dorothy Kehlenbeck Bean Papers. RS 25/4/51. Special Collections and University Archives, Iowa State University Library, Ames, Iowa.

Clothing Construction Techniques, 1981. Stewart railroad cottage lease, 15 October 1915. Box 10, Folder 5. Union Pacific Railroad Collection, 1902-1969. 97-19. Special Collections and University Archives, Iowa State University Library, Ames, Iowa.

Executive Committee Minutes, Iowa Conservation Education Council, 3 January 1980. Box 12, Folder 69. Iowa Conservation Education Council Records, 1958-1998. Special Collections and University Archives, Iowa State University Library, Ames, Iowa. 

[Photo caption with date if available. Photo Collection Name Collection Number Photo Number]. Special Collections and University Archives, Iowa State University Library, Ames, Iowa.

EXAMPLE
Jack Trice and Teammates, 1923. University Photographs RS 21/07/A. Special Collections and University Archives, Iowa State University Library, Ames, Iowa.

*Citing photographs from collections other than University Photographs, use same format for Citing content from a particular document.

[Description of Artifact, date if applicable. Collection Name, Collection Number Artifact associated with, if applicable. Artifact Number]. Special Collections and University Archives, Iowa State University Library, Ames, Iowa.

EXAMPLE
Marching Band Uniform, 1930-1949. Iowa State University. Cyclone Marching Band records, RS 13/17/13. Artifact 2008-094.006.Special Collections and University Archives, Iowa State University Library, Ames, Iowa.

EXAMPLES

Entire Collection

Pilar A. Garcia Papers, 1933-2011. RS 12/6/53. ISU Library Special Collections and University Archives.

Content from a particular document or item from collection

Executive Committee Minutes, Iowa Conservation Education Council, 3 January 1980. Box 12, Folder 69. Iowa Conservation Education Council Records, 1958-1998. ISU Special Collections & University Archives. 

University Photographs

Jack Trice and Teammates, 1923. University Photographs RS 21/07/A. ISU Library Special Collections and University Archives.

Artifacts

Marching Band Uniform, 1930-1949. Artifact 2008-094.006.Special Collections and University Archives, Iowa State University Library, Ames, Iowa.

Please note

Our citation preferences may not correspond with the style guide you are required to use for class or publication. In that case, refer to your required citation style guide. 

Citation Style Guides

This page will provide links to various types of style guides available on the Internet.  Use these to format citations for papers.

Contact us

Profile Photo
Special Collections & University Archives
Contact:
403 Parks Library
701 Morrill Road
Iowa State University Library
Ames, IA 50011
515 294-6672
Website

Contact us before you visit!

You will get access to the materials much faster if you contact the archives in advance. Here's why:

  • Off-site collections: Some of our collections are stored off site and staff will need time to retrieve them. We ask for 2 business days advance notice.
  • Related materials: Even if you have something specific you want to see (and know how to request it), we may have suggestions for other materials.
  • Check the holdings: As with most archives, many of our collections don't have detailed descriptions. If you're looking for a specific document or piece of information, contact the archives before making a trip so that you won't be disappointed if the collection doesn't have what you're looking for.
  • Research Help: We understand that using archives can be complicated. We know our collections and are truly happy to help!