MuckRock is a non-profit site that offers free access to information obtained from U.S. Freedom of Information Act requests. It is self described as a "collaborative news site that brings together journalists, researchers, activists, and regular citizens to request, analyze, and share government documents, making politics more transparent and democracies more informed." MuckRock tutorial
This database covers almost all subject areas and is especially good at interdisciplinary areas. Good place to start for class assignments. It contains full text articles for more than 6,500 journals.
CMMC provides full-text, indexing and abstracts for hundreds communication journals covering related disciplines such as media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse. Many of the journals have searchable cited references.
Provides abstracts for nearly 350 journals covering communication and other closely-related fields of study. Most of the journals have searchable cited references.
Education Full Text is a research database that covers all levels of education. Topics range across subject areas and cover best practices, curriculum development, literacy standards, pedagogical research, and instructional media.
Web of Science Core is a database of “core publications” across all disciplines. This database has a cited reference search tool that can be used for searching for a specific item from a citation.
A large database containing scholarly journal articles and conference papers on any topic in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Includes cited references and h-index information. Scopus tutorial
This is a good starting place for term papers - to get a basic overview of almost any topic. It also includes short videos and high-resolution art images across all subject areas. Results link out to content in other databases provided by the ISU Library.
JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities, social sciences, and life sciences. It includes digitized current and back issues of academic journals, books and primary source materials.
This is a subset of the full JSTOR collection, limited to content found in the JSTOR Open Collection. It is primarily a collection of book chapters, but it also contains several thousand freely-accessible journal articles.
Literature in psychology and related disciplines. About 90% of the articles are peer-reviewed; also includes book chapters, reports, theses and dissertations.
